Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

YOUTH SCOTTISH CHAMPIONSHIP – RD 6 – Shiplaw, Peebles. 19th/20th September 2009

YOUTH SCOTTISH CHAMPIONSHIP – RD 6 – Shiplaw, Peebles. 19th/20th September 2009

Well! What a finale! The curtain came down on the 2009 SACU Youth Scottish Championship this weekend at the fast hardpack track at Shiplaw, hosted by Scottish Youth MCC.

The club had gone to great lengths to make sure the track was superbly prepared for the final round of the championship, and combined with a week of dry weather all was set for a great showdown. As there are double points available for those riders who have completed all rounds, there was a great field of riders and it wasn’t over till it was over making it really exciting racing in every class. No-one could afford to slow up and mistakes were paid for heavily! Equally though, exceptional riding was rewarded !

The automatic class was hard fought as always, and as this was the first time the wee guys n gals had a Scottish title to contest, they all wanted it! The fast dry track made it easier for the wee bikes and they were all gunning for it! Places swapped regularly throughout the field. On the weekend Scott Russell took it from Troy Anderson with Daniel Chisolm and Lewis Dow tied on points for third.

Ben Edwards once again led the pack in the 65cc class. A rare mistake in race three allowed the ever improving Alexander Brown to take one win, but Edwards held onto the overall ahead of Brown and Elaine McEachern did it for the girls taking third spot with some inspired riding.

The SW 85cc class was on fire! With all to play for the speed of these guys was tremendous. Ian Findlay was back on form but he couldn’t hold off the hard charging John Adamson. Luke Cockburn had a steady weekend to hold onto the championship, with third on the weekend. There were other battles for position which were equally exciting to watch for the other championship placing.

Matthew Fleming was fastest as usual but was missing from Sunday’s line up so leaving the door open for the other contenders to score some much needed extra points. Stuart Robertson was quick to capitalise and took the overall on the weekend. Blane McNally and Andrew McNicoll took second and third.

Harry Cooper having led the 125cc class all year was on his usual form but a tangle with another bike early in race one meant he would not take maximum points, but he didn’t need to. Stuart Treloar was consistently quick all weekend taking the overall, ahead of Jamie Blair and Cooper in third.

There was a battle royal going on in the 250f class! Only ten points separated the top three going into the final round. It was all to play for and Mark Perfect had to keep Steven Craig behind him so that he didn’t steal the championship he has led all year! However Craig was on a mission and the racing between these two was fantastic and they left the rest of the field in a trail of dust! Unfortunately for Craig he made a mistake in moto 2 leaving Perfect to take another win. In the end it was too big a mountain to climb and Craig had to settle for second in the championship although he took the overall on the day. Perfect was second, and third placed man Aaron McCarroll had raced well to take third.

The adult 125cc championship class was a bit depleted and saw Ralph Yeaman take the win ahead of John Souter and Craig Hill.

Its been a fantastic championship – here’s to another great year in 2010, and well done to our new Scottish Champions!


Auto – Scot Russell, Troy Anderson, Daniel Chisolm, Lewis Dow, Jordan Gill, Ciara Robertson

65cc – Ben Edwards, Alexander Brown, Elaine McEachern, Ryan Archibald, Lee Perfect, Aaron McDonald

85cc SW – John Adamson, Ian Findlay, Luke Cockburn, Greg Queen, Jay Lamb, Fraser Pohlen

85cc BW – Stuart Robertson, Blane McNally, Andrew McNicol, Aidan Christie, Douglas Campbell, Paul Baillie

125cc SP Stuart Treloar, Jamie Blair, Harry Cooper, Scott Foote, Dale Stewart, Arron Munro

250cc SP –Steven Craig, Mark Perfect, Arran McCarroll, David Houston, Marcus Deans, Thomas Robertson

MX2 Adults – Ralph Yeaman, John Souter, Craig Hill, Matthew Harper, Steven Lambie, Gordon Ramsay


Auto – Lewis Dow, Jordan Gill, Daniel Chisolm, Troy Anderson, Kirk Watson, Ciara Robertson

65cc – Ben Edwards, Alexander Brown, Lewis Campbell, Ryan Archibald, Aaron McDonald, Lee Perfect

85cc SW – Luke Cockburn, John Adamson, Jay Lamb, Greg Queen, Ash Darling, Robert Smith

85cc BW – Matthew Fleming, Stuart Robertson, Andrew McNicoll, Blane McNally, William Lambie, Aidan Christie

125cc SP – Harry Cooper, Jamie Blair, Dale Stewart, Scott Foote, Jasper Cochrane, Colin Smith

250c SP – Mark Perfect, Steven Craig, Arran McCarroll, David Houston, Aiden Bruce, Thomas Robertson

Report by Vicky Smith

Images by Paul Stewart


Next up in Industry PR