Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

The young talents shine at Matterley Basin

The young talents shine at Matterley Basin

The young talents shine at Matterley Basin

The British track of Matterley Basin also hosted the final rounds of the UEM EMX65cc and EMX85cc Championships, as well as the penultimate round of the UEM EMX125cc and the fifth one of the UEM EMX250 class.

In the UEM EMX250 class, Maxime Desprey obtained his maiden victory of the season after dominating both heats this weekend. The French rider moved from sixth to third in the point standings of the championship and he is now 41 points behind Stefan Olsen.

Second overall was Damon Graulus after finishing fourth today and third in the first race. The Belgian rider had to give his best this morning in order to finish on the podium as he had started down in eighth.

Stefan Olsen, who is second in the point standings of the championship, was second in the first race, but today the Danish rider had a tough day and could only finish fifth. In any case, Olsen was really satisfied for being on the third step of the podium of the British round.

Home rider Mel Pocock had a disappointed weekend, as he missed the podium for three points. The British rider crashed in the beginning of race one and he could only finish tenth, but today he made no mistakes and he crossed the finish line second behind Desprey.

EMX250 Overall top ten: 1. Maxime Desprey (FRA, Kawasaki), 50 points; 2. Damon Graulus (BEL, Suzuki), 38 p.; 3. Stefan Kjer Olsen (DEN, Yamaha), 38 p.; 4. Mel Pocock (GBR, Yamaha), 33 p.; 5. Alessandro Battig (ITA, Yamaha), 32 p.; 6. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Kawasaki), 24 p.; 7. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Yamaha), 23 p.; 8. Adrien Escoffier (FRA, Kawasaki), 21 p.; 9. Mike Kras (NED, Suzuki), 20 p.; 10. Donny Bastemeijer (NED, Honda), 19 p.;

2012 UEM EMX125 Champion Tim Gajser was not able to win race 2 today because he found a really strong James Dunn, who imposed an incredible rhythm at the lead. The Slovenian rider did not want to take any risks and he rode safe in the second position and he assured the overall victory.

Magne Klingsheim did two consistent races this weekend and after finishing second in race 1, he crossed the finish line in third place today. The Norwegian rider had an impressive start in race 2 and he actually exchanged the lead with Gajser during the first metres of the race, but it was James Dunn who took the lead in the end. However, Klingsheim was really satisfied with his second overall position.

Home rider James Dunn had a difficult first day on Friday and he could only finish eighth, but today he counted with the full support of the crowd present at Matterley Basin, and once he took the lead, he imposed an incredible rhythm and he succeeded in crossing the finish line first. In the end the British rider finished third overall.

Italian Simone Furlotti was fourth overall and Nicolas Dercourt from France completed the top five.

EMX125 Overall top ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, KTM), 47 points; 2. Magne Klingsheim (NOR, KTM), 42 p.; 3. James Dunn (GBR, KTM), 38 p.; 4. Simone Furlotti (ITA, Suzuki), 36 p.; 5. Nicolas Dercourt (FRA, Yamaha), 35 p.; 6. Vaclav Kovar (CZE, KTM), 25 p.; 7. Henry Jacobi (GER, KTM), 24 p.; 8. Nicholas Adams (RSA, KTM), 20 p.; 9. Riccardo Righi (ITA, KTM), 20 p.; 10. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 18 p.;

Davy Pootjes became the 2012 UEM EMX85cc Champion today after winning race 1 on Friday and crossing the finish line second today. The Dutch rider took the holeshot today, but home rider Conrad Mewse was pushing really hard from behind and Pootjes could not keep the lead. However, Pootjes decided to ride safe until the chequered flag and assure the Title at the end of the day.

Second overall was David Herbreteau, who was a little bit disappointed today, as he had made several mistakes that might have caused him the Title. The young French talent had finished second on Friday and today he crossed the finish line third.

Home rider Conrad Mewse had a very difficult race on Friday as he had some problems with his bike and he could only finish thirteenth. However, today he had a really good start and once he took the lead he opened a big gap and Mewse crossed the finish line twenty second ahead second classified, Pootjes. The young British rider finished third overall.

The fourth overall position was for Italian Lorenzo Camporese and Ivan Petrov from Bulgaria obtained the overall fifth place.

EMX85 Overall top ten: 1. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM), 47 points; 2. David Herbreteau (FRA, Kawasaki), 42 p.; 3. Conrad Mewse (GBR, KTM), 33 p.; 4. Lorenzo Camporese (ITA, KTM), 30 p.; 5. Ivan Petrov (BUL, KTM), 28 p.; 6. Tomas Ragadini (ITA, KTM), 25 p.; 7. Bas Vaessen (NED, KTM), 24 p.; 8. Kristers Drevinskis (LAT, Suzuki), 23 p.; 9. Tilo Wittlerbäumer (GER, KTM), 22 p.; 10. Brian Hsu (GER, Suzuki), 22 p.;

Xylian Ramella was proclaimed the 2012 UEM EMX 65cc Champion this morning thanks to his 1-2 result. On Friday the Swiss rider started at the front and dominated the heat until the finish line, but today his start was not that good and had to push really hard to move from his initial fourth position until the final second.

Second in the championship was Brian Strubhart, who did an impressive race this morning, taking the holeshot from the rest of the riders and imposing a superb rhythm at the front. In the first race the French rider had been seventh, so he was really satisfied for being on the second step of the podium at the end of the day.

Rene Hofer finished second in the first race, but today he found the track a little bit more difficult and he was only able to finish sixth. The Austrian rider had a good start in fourth place, but he then made a mistake and dropped down several positions.

Bastian Boegh from Denmark was fourth overall and completing the top five was Raivo Dankers from the Netherlands.

EMX65 overall top ten: 1. Xylian Ramella (SUI, KTM), 47 points; 2. Brian Strubhart Moreau (FRA, KTM), 39 p.; 3. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), 37 p.; 4. Bastian Boegh Damm (DEN, KTM), 36 p.; 5. Raivo Dankers (NED, KTM), 31 p.; 6. Timur Petrashin (RUS, KTM), 29 p.; 7. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), 25 p.; 8. Hakan Halmi (BUL, KTM), 22 p.; 9. Mykola Moskalyuk (UKR, KTM), 19 p.; 10. Luka Milec (SLO, KTM), 18 p.;

Complete results available at
Photos of the whole Grand Prix available at here

The MXGP Festival has been broadcasted LIVE on MX-LIFE.TV and by clicking here you will obtain the full schedule and coverage of the British Grand Prix.

Circuit length: 1640
Type of ground: hard pack
Temperature: 29 °C
Weather conditions: Sunny
Crowd attendance: 35000


Next up in Industry PR

Catching up with ‘big Ken’ after the MXGP Festival ...