Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Roczen lands himself his first ever GP win

Roczen lands himself his first ever GP win


Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2’s Ken Roczen continued his incredible breakthrough campaign by winning his first moto and finishing on the podium with the overall runner-up position for the second time in just seven GP appearances. The 15 year old stalked and passed Rui Goncalves to earn his maiden chequered flag and that of the RM-Z250 in the first moto. A victim of some bumping out of the gate in the second race saw him needing to gain places from mid-pack and he reached seventh by the end of the 35 minutes and 2 laps.

De Dycker is sixth in the MX1 standings and requires 25 points over Philippaerts to reach third. Roczen is also sixth in MX2 and has to accumulate 45 points to break into the top five.

Teka Suzuki World MX1 now has a break from international duty and in just under a month will resume activity for round 12, which is the Grand Prix of Limburg at the Belgian circuit of Lommel; the team’s home event. Steve Ramon should be able to make his first appearance for the squad after recovering from a neck fracture sustained at round four in Holland.

Ken Roczen – 2nd:

“I had a big battle with Rui in the first moto which I really enjoyed. Winning my first Grand Prix in Teutschenthal was an awesome feeling but my first moto win feels just as good. I got bumped coming out of the gate in the second moto, but this is part of racing and I just had to ride as hard as I could to come from outside the top-20. I made a big charge and ran out of time to close on the guys at the front. I am really happy with this second place and the way things are going for me this season.”

MX2 Overall Classification: 1. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 47 points; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2), 39p; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 36p; 4. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 35p; 5. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 34p; 6. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 34p; 7. Matiss Karro (LAT, Suzuki), 26p; 8. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), 23p; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Yamaha), 22p; 10. Marcus Schiffer (GER, KTM), 21p.


Next up in Industry PR