Moto Magazine

Now Reading:




The penultimate round of the FIM Motocross World championship held in Faenza, Italy has seen factory Kawasaki racer, Gautier Paulin, maintain his 3rd position in the standings with a 7-3 score and final moto podium.

Great track conditions and a packed hillside circuit would have the crowd on their feet for the opening MX1 moto. Paulin emerged from the first turn inside the top ten and had his work cut out for him. Managing to salvage 3 spots he finished 7th while Antonio Cairoli went on to win convincingly and gain his 6th world title.

Grabbing a better start in moto 2, Paulin rounded the first lap in 4th and then put pressure on fast starter Sebastien Pourcel. He passed his fellow countryman at the halfway mark and then put in a charge on Christophe Pourcel and Cairoli. Paulin closed to within 6 seconds of the leading duo as he set faster lap times but with time running out he settled for 3rd with Cairoli taking a double victory on home soil.

Gautier Paulin: “The track was very nice with good grip and many ruts but it was narrow and difficult to pass. I made too many mistakes in the qualifying race, and also today in the first moto, but eventually I found the good lines and was happy with my riding in the second part of the race. I felt confident in the second moto; I got a good start and found a good rhythm to finish third. I’m now looking forward to the last GP at Teutschenthal; I was on the podium there last year after winning the second moto. And one week later at the Motocross of Nations Xavier and I will race for the French team in Belgium.”

The GP calendar allows Paulin a week’s break before the final showdown in Teutschenthal, Germany on the 22-23 September.

Image: CDS

Race results:
MX1 Race 1: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:40.533; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:20.352; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:38.395; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:43.878; 5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +0:46.102; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:48.912; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:50.670; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:56.385; 9. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +1:03.572; 10. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:08.859;
MX1 Race 2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:58.407; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:00.744; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:22.031; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:29.496; 5. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:34.329; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:47.816; 7. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +1:00.580; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:04.071; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +1:08.447; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:10.500;
MX1 Overall: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 44 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 38 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 34 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 32 p.; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 28 p.; 7. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 27 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 27 p.; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 27 p.; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 22 p.;
MX1 Championship: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 642 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 554 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 502 p.; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 496 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 478 p.; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 389 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 372 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 365 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 315 p.; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 298 p.;


Next up in Industry PR

GP of Europe offers little satisfaction