Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Market Drayton@Ollerton, North Shropshire-North Wales MX

Market Drayton@Ollerton, North Shropshire-North Wales MX

The second round of the AMCA Two Stroke Championships travelled to Shropshire last weekend when the North Shropshire North Wales motocross group held their meeting at Ollerton, courtesy of Market Drayton MX club.

First up were the Two Stroke championship riders. Storming out of the gate they set the pace for the day which saw fast and furious riding with many close finishes.

In Group One, the top three battled hard for supremacy with Brian Staples being the eventual victor. Nick Batcock in second didn’t give Staples an easy ride and snatched a win in race two, leaving the results of race three to decide the winner. Duncan Winnall took three third place finishes giving him third overall.

Group Two saw a run away winner as Simon White took maximum points, leaving Graham Nicklin and Justin Bolton to fight it out for second and third position. Nicklin managed to beat Bolton to the chequered flag in two races which gave him second, with Bolton having to settle for third despite a second place finish in race one.

Experts Unlimited continued the fast pace with only a handful of points separating the top three. Gavin Rizzi took the chequered flag in two races giving him the overall win. Club mate and Brother Tino Rizzi snatched a win in race two giving him victory over Tim James who finished in third.
Mark Whycherley stormed home to three chequered flags in Juniors Group A, giving him the overall win. Charlie Ayres and Patrick Hughes were left to fight for second and third with Charlie taking the points he needed for second. Group B saw Flintshire Club members Andrew Roberts and Neil Young take first and second, Roberts took the class with two race wins. North Shropshire’s Jamie Glover finished the line up in third position.

Neil Roberts was victorious in MX2 Seniors, following his recent upgrade from Juniors he stormed home to two race wins taking the class with style. Michael Dunn from the Wirral took second with Joe Sargent taking third following a win in race one.

MX1 Seniors saw close competition between Carl Boggis and Russell Bufton for the top spot, with two wins Boggis took the first place trophy with Russell taking second after a wining the first race. Host club member John Davies had an excellent day; with second and third place finishes he took home the third place trophy.

The Inter Juniors saw a lively battle between Ryan Davies and Wrekin rider Liam Jones; only one point separated them at the end of racing. With two race wins Davies took the class with Liam having to settle for second despite a win in race three. North Shropshire’s Dale Todd took third with Kieran Locke from Chester taking fourth, and Shane Pritchard finishing in fifth. Trophies down to tenth saw hot competition further down the field with convincing rides from Ryan Alan Stevens and Nick Bennett both from North Shropshire. Ryan D’henin, Joe Perrin and Andrew Ellis also received trophies following excellent rides.

An excellent performance from Market Drayton, riders were pleased with the efforts of the club following their two wet meetings earlier in the year and although dust rose following practice the wind was kind enough to take it away so it didn’t spoil racing.

Two Stroke Group one

Brian Staples
Nick Batcock
Duncan Winnall

Two Stroke Group two

Simon White
Graham Nicklin
Justin Bolton

Experts Unlimited

Gavin Rizzi
Tino Rizzi
Tim James

Seniors MX1

Carl Briggs
Russ Bufton
John Davies

Seniors MX2

Neil Roberts
Michael Dunn
Joe Sargent

Juniors Group A

Marc Whycherley
Charlie Ayres
Patrick Hughes

Juniors Group B

Andrew Roberts
Neil Young
Jamie Glover

Juniors Under 18’s

Sam Hatherway
Ian McCartney
Daniel Kellet

Inter Juniors

Ryan Davies
Liam Jones
Dale Todd
Keiran Lock
Shane Pritchard
Ryan Alan Stevens
Nick Bennett
Ryan Dhenin
Joeseph Perrin
Andrew Ellis

Report and images by Claire Bennett


Next up in Industry PR

Whitby MC - Wilson takes victory at Skelder Banks