Moto Magazine

Now Reading:



paulin_v7m8527.jpgAs the MX1 series hits the halfway mark,  Gautier Paulin’s mixed result at the Belgian MX GP held in Bastogne saw an impressive first moto ride from the Factory Kawasaki racer however a bad start and crash saw valuable championship points missed in moto 2.

With over 18.000 spectators turning out in much welcomed sunshine after heavy rainfalls forced organizers to cut the Saturday qualification schedule short, the undulating Bastogne circuit dried well for the start of the first MX1 moto.

A tight inside line exiting the first turn gained Paulin some positions and he quickly went to work to slot into  3rd behind home-crowd favourite Clement Desalle.  Cairoli used the hole-shot to his advantage to control the race out front but it was Desalle who would succumb to the Paulin pressure when he made a mistake with Paulin having to break hard to avoid missing the downed Belgian. One the final lap, the trio had closed up to within 5 secs of each other as Cairoli took honurs over Paulin and Desalle.

A poor start in Moto 2 left Paulin scrambling for positions in 18th spot.  He quickly moved through the pack into 8th position but then a crash would relegate the Frenchman to 9th ultimately robbing him from his 3rd poisiton in the MX1 championship standings.

“I had a good feeling in the first race, and when I was second I controlled my race and was able to increase my pace when Desalle came to third – my last lap was my fastest of the race. My second start was not so good, and then I made a couple of mistakes and crashed. I didn’t make the best technical choices and didn’t feel so comfortable so I didn’t want to take any risks.” admitted Paulin

Round 9 of the 16 round series sees Paulin travel to Sweden in two weeks time.

Race results:

MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:20.568; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:02.127; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:04.944; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:31.016; 5. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:36.324; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:37.570; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:43.854; 8. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:50.218; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:51.123; 10. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:53.502;

MX1 Race 2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:19.194; ; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:04.597; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:09.786; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:10.625; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:36.754; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:42.862; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:44.952; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +0:52.345; 9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:53.004; 10. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:55.722;

MX1 Overall: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 40 p.; 3. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 38 p.; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 36 p.; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 34 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 26 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 26 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 26 p.; 9. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 23 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 22 p.;

MX1 Championship: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 345 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 298 p.; 3. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 292 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 289 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 237 p.; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 212 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 211 p.; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 207 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 169 p.; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 168 p.;


Next up in Industry PR