Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Ken De Dycker shines in Semigorje

Ken De Dycker shines in Semigorje

The 10th GP of the 2012 season in Semigorje, Russia confirmed Ken De Dycker’s reclaimed presence at the top of world motocross. The Belgian Red Bull KTM rider scored his second consecutive podium today in what was a very successful inaugural international event for the Semigorje Shaldovo track. Keeno’s 2-3 scores at the end of the day placed him on equal points to countryman Clément Desalle. But the better result for Desalle gave the Suzuki rider second place ‘on the box’. However, his strong third place allowed Ken to improve his World Championship standings. He gained another 14 points on the fourth, Frenchman Gautier Paulin.

The first Russian Grand Prix in ten years boosted an interesting and demanding layout. Unfortunately it was again the rain on Saturday demanding a leading role. Still De Dycker immediately felt at home on Russian soil. During the pre-qualification session he rode his KTM SX-F 450 to the provisional pole. Despite a difficult start in the qualifying race, Ken also made a name for himself there. From his initial tenth position he stormed in difficult, muddy conditions to third place after Cairoli and Simpson.

Track conditions had improved drastically for Sunday’s racing festivities. A frantic and numerous Russian crowd witnessed De Dycker pulling off a brilliant start. After Ken had dealt with Desalle he continued to lead for five laps. When his faster teammate Cairoli came by, his reign came to an end. While Tony controlled at the front, the former British and German MX1 champion did the same in second. After Desalle started to apply some pressure, De Dycker picked up the pace again. Just a couple of lap before the end of the race he even recorded his fastest lap. In the end Cairoli prevailed with a margin of less than 6 seconds at the finish line.

At the starting gate for the second moto 28-year old De Dycker was just a little too eager. Although his trigger-happy response initially seemed to produce a miserable start the KTM factory rider recovered terrificly. Ken chose a trademark tight, inside line to tuck in behind Cairoli, Pourcel and Goncalves. In the hectic opening phase of the race he lost a few positions but De Dycker bounced back. Fifth at the end of the fist lap, he made his way past Gonçalves quickly. In the second half of the moto he caught Pourcel to claim 3rd.

Ken De Dycker: “My riding was good all weekend. The conditions were very different on the two days but I like it when a track is demanding and technical like it was the case here. I had two great starts and that has helped me tremendously. l must admit that leading the first race felt pretty strange. I was very tense. I think that those first few laps in the lead cost me much more energy than if I should’ve come back from behind! Then you do not have to think or worry. So for sure that’s a feeling that I need to regain. I hope to continue working on that in the next GP’s. (laughng) That’s something my competitors will not hold against me, right?

Together with the team we have done a great job in adjusting the new bike to my needs. After Sweden, I received another engine which certainly makes a difference in the start. The testing and development of the bike during the season is difficult because we have little time between the GP’s. On top of that we started from scratch because Max (Nagl) hasn’t been able to do testwork on the new 450 bike due to his injury. After the second moto I was completely done. So now I look forward to get some rest and to recharge the batteries for the last part of the season.”

MX1 Race 1 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:45.999; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull-KTM), +0:05.960; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.579; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:09.938; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:30.092; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:35.017; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:37.056; 8. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:48.946; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:50.714; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), +0:52.555; 11. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:34.316; 12. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:38.291; 13. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:39.141; 14. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s); 15. Augusts Justs (LAT, Honda), -1 lap(s); 16. Dimitry Parshin (RUS, Honda), -1 lap(s); 17. Alexander Ivanutin (RUS, Yamaha), -2 lap(s); 18. Mihail Cociu (MDA, KTM), -12 lap(s); 19. Roman Morozov (UKR, Yamaha), -20 lap(s);

MX1 Race 2 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:21.770; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.892; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull- KTM), +0:25.744; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:33.416; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:36.099; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:40.135; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:52.103; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), +1:03.761; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:15.308; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +1:18.144; 11. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:18.807; 12. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +2:43.849; 13. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 14. Augusts Justs (LAT, Honda), -1 lap(s); 15. Dimitry Parshin (RUS, Honda), -2 lap(s); 16. Mihail Cociu (MDA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 17. Alexander Ivanutin (RUS, Yamaha), -2 lap(s); 18. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), -11 lap(s);

GP of Russia classification 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 42 p.; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull-KTM), 42 p.; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 36 p.; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 31 p.; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 28 p.; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 25 p.; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), 24 p.; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 23 p.; 11. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 19 p.; 12. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 18 p.; 13. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 18 p.; 14. Augusts Justs (LAT, Honda), 13 p.; 15. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 12 p.; 16. Dimitry Parshin (RUS, Honda), 11 p.; 17. Mihail Cociu (MDA, KTM), 8 p.; 18. Alexander Ivanutin (RUS, Yamaha), 8 p.; 19. Roman Morozov (UKR, Yamaha), 2

FIM MX1 standings after 11 GP’s 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 442 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 422 p.; 3. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 393 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 376 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull-KTM), 341 p.; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 304 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 277 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 253 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 247 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 212 p.; 11. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 203 p.; 12. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 194 p.; 13. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), 175 p.; 14. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 166 p.; 15. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 136 p.; 16. Matiss Karro (LAT, KTM), 112 p.; 17. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 66 p.; 18. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), 58 p.; 19. Cedric Soubeyras (FRA, Honda), 54 p.; 20. Dean Ferris (AUS, Kawasaki), 52 p.; 21. Marc de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), 42 p.; 22. Matteo Bonini (ITA, KTM), 38 p.; 23. Santtu Tiainen (FIN, Kawasaki), 31 p.; 24. Augusts Justs (LAT, Honda), 30 p.; 25. Milko Potisek (FRA, Honda), 30 p.; 26. Herjan Brakke (NED, Yamaha), 24 p.;

Ken De Dycker will race the 12th round of the Motocross World Championship in Loket, Czech Republic in two weeks time.


Next up in Industry PR