Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Jones storms the Hill

Jones storms the Hill

A good entry of over 40 riders competed in Rhayader Motor Clubs Hare ‘n Hounds at Cwmythig Hill last Saturday evening. The Club had set out a 3-mile circuit including the popular Hillside motocross circuit as well as nearby fields, which resulted in some excellent racing in all classes.

Local hotshot Shaun Buchan (Llanbister) led the field away from the mass start, but hot on his heels were Tim Forman (Newtown) & Carl Jones (Glanamman). Buchan’s lead was short lived though as he slipped off his Yamaha soon after the start, Buchan remounted but eventually pulled out with bike problems after only 4 laps.. Foreman & Jones continued to battle it out during the early part of the race until Forman pitted with a misfire on his KTM. By the end of the gruelling 2 hours non-stop race it was Jones who took the honours with 21 laps to his credit, while Owain Humphreys (Llanffestioniog) took runner-up spot a lap adrift of Jones. Third went to Gethin Humphreys (Llanffestiniog) who recovered well after losing time at the start failing to start his KTM.

Rhayader Youngster Adam James took a well deserved victory in the Clubman class competing 19 laps. Another excellent performance saw Aaron Martin (Llandrindod Wells) take runner-up, just under 4 minutes behind class winner James, while Rhys Davies (Llandinam) secured third place a further 2 minutes adrift of Martin.

On-form William Jones (Pontrhydfendigaid) swept up the Over 40’s class with 19 laps, while Andy Prosser (Brecon) secured runner up spot just over 2 minutes behind Jones. Another close battle saw Colin Griffiths (Bishops Castle) fend off Simon Morgan (Builth Wells) for third place, Griffiths narrowing beating Morgan by 25 seconds.

The biggest class of the day saw the Kairon Watkins (Kington) take the Beginners class win with 18 laps just beating off nearest rival Ben Prosser (Brecon) by 1½ minutes. David Price (Kington) finished in 3rd a further minute down on Prosser, all 3 completing 18 laps.

The Club now looks forward to their next event which will be the Simon Rees Memorial Hare ‘n Hounds which will take place on Sunday 26th August.

Images by Gemma James


1st Carl Jones (Front Row KTM 250), 2nd Owain Humphreys (KTM 250), 3rd Gethin Humphreys (KTM 125)

1st Adam James (ET James Suzuki 125), 2nd Aaron Martin (KTM 125), 3rd Rhys Davies (Yamaha 250)

Over 40’s:
1st William Jones (KTM 150), 2nd Andy Prosser (AJP KTM 450), 3rd Colin Griffiths (KTM 300)

1st Kairon Watkins (125 KTM), 2nd Ben Prosser (AJP KTM 350), 3rd David Price (Kawasaki 250


Next up in Industry PR

Another podium for Aubin at Maxxis British Championship