Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Holmes Dominates at Langrish

Holmes Dominates at Langrish

Holmes Dominates at Langrish
Paul Holmes took maximum points as he dominated a thrilling fifth round of the ACU British Quadcross Championship. Held during the prestigious Ken Hall Trophy weekend at the demanding Langrish circuit, the event attracted huge crowds who witnessed some of the best racing so far this year.  Luke Cooper, Justin Reid and Connor Smith unleashed superb and entertaining performances to finish joint second on points.

Paul Holmes

{Paul Holmes took the fastest lap in qualifying – Click for High Resolution Image}

Organised by Langrish MCRC, the Manor Farm circuit was in perfect condition as riders undertook qualifying. Despite some rain during the night, the hard-packed track was drying out and the sun looked set to make for a glorious day’s racing. Holmes was fastest with the on-form Smith 1.13 second behind. Cooper, Leon Rogers, Reid and David Cowan all finished within three seconds of the fastest lap.


{Leon Rogers taking the holeshot in race one  – Click for High Resolution Image}
16 year old Rogers bravely took the holeshot as 26 quads launched into the first corner before Sam Bryan made a pass and took the lead. Bryan spun in lap two as Holmes came through and immediately began to pull a gap from the chasing pack. Cooper held his second place position well until midway through the race when he came off his quad while trying to pass a backmarker. Fortunately he was able to upright his KTM and rejoin the race to battle with Reid for fourth and fifth positions. With Holmes way out in front, the focus was on second place. Rogers, giving his best British Championship performance so far was fully aware of Smith chasing him down.
Reid and Cooper Battle
{Reidand Cooper battle it out  – Click for High Resolution Image}
The two battled hard for the remaining laps, encouraged by huge crowds who were enjoying the closely fought action. Holmes comfortably took the win with a 28.7 second lead. As the two under 21 champ riders blasted through the finish it was Rogers who took second with Smith in third.  Meanwhile Reid took his CanAm to fourth after an exciting contest with the impressive Cooper who made a superb comeback to take fifth.Holmes wins Race One{Holmes takes the win in race one  – Click for High Resolution Image}
Full of confidence from his earlier win, Holmes powered his Laeger’s Yamaha into the first corner taking the holeshot before smoothly riding his own race from the front. Luke Cooper held the second spot with George Calloway, Oli Sansom and David Cowan closely behind. In sixth Reid was looking for a top three finish. “I managed to pass a couple of guys and catch up to Luke in second but I just couldn’t find a way round.” Reid explained as he had to settle for third place behind Cooper and the unstoppable championship leader Holmes. Smith and Cowan took fourth and fifth while Sansom took sixth.

{Paul Holmes  – Click for High Resolution Image}

“I’ve really enjoyed the circuit here today. I’ve been full of confidence coming into this round and did what I wanted to do in qualifying, posting the fastest time. In both races I was keen to get to the front quickly and keep out of the roost, manage the gap and ride my own race” explained Holmes who now  has a 68 point lead at the top of the leaderboard with two rounds left. He finished first overall with Cooper second and Reid third overall. They finished on 68 points each alongside Smith who was unlucky not to get a podium finish.

Current overall 2012 ACU British Quadcross Championship standings:
1 Paul Holmes (Yamaha) 273, 2 Oli Sansom (Yamaha) 205, 3 Justin Reid (CanAm) 204, 4 Connor Smith (KTM) 199, 5 Carl Bunce (Suzuki) 175, 6 David Cowan (Yamaha) 175

Cooper won the  Under 21 Championship by one point ahead of Smith with Rogers in third. “I’m really happy with the result here and hope I can get a similar result at Dean Moor” commented Cooper. All three had a superb day’s racing showcasing the skill and talent that today’s top UK youth riders have to offer. Darren Bridge took maximum points in the Masters Championship with Martin Sayer taking second overall in front of Clint Eagle.

Luke Cooper
{Under 21 Championship round winner Luke Cooper  – Click for High Resolution Image}

Round six will be taking place next Sunday (2nd September) as the Championship heads North to  Dean Moor in Cumbria. Hosted by the NETT Quad Championship, this fast paced track with panoramic views of the Lake District will be a breathtaking backdrop for the penultimate round. The postcode for the venue is CA14 4RH. Further information about the track can be found at

British Championship: 1 Paul Holmes (Yamaha) 40 + 40 =80, 2 Luke Cooper (KTM) 31 + 37 =68, 3 Justin Reid (Can-Am) 33 + 35 =68, 4 Connor Smith (KTM) 35 + 33 =68, 5 David Cowan (Yamaha) 29 + 31 =60, 6 Leon Rogers (Kawasaki) 37 + 23 =60

British U21 Championship: 1 Luke Cooper (KTM) 35 + 40 =75, 2 Connor Smith (KTM) 37 + 37 =74, 3 Leon Rogers (Kawasaki) 40 + 29 =89, 4 David Cowan (Yamaha) 33 + 35 =68, 5 Thomas Claireaux (Honda) 28 + 33 =61,  6 Sheldon Seal (KTM) 31 + 27 =58

British Masters Championship: 1 Darren Bridge (Yamaha) 40 + 40 =80, 2 Martin Sayer (Suzuki) 35 + 37 =72, 3 Clint Eagle (KTM) 37 + 33 =70, 4 Andrew Willcock (KTM) 33 + 35 =68

British Clubman Championship: 1 Anthony Canavan (Honda) 40 + 40 =80, 2 Karl Robinson (Suzuki) 37 + 37 =74, 3 Jonny Harper (Suzuki) 35 + 0 =35, 4 Michael Campbell (Suzuki) 33 + — =33


Next up in Industry PR

Emberson Yamaha Make the most of the Bank Holiday Weekend