Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Goose collects International points at Hawkstone

Goose collects International points at Hawkstone


David Goosen made his International debut yesterday the annual Hawkstone International event, which attracted many GP teams and riders wishing to use the event as a pre-season shakedown for the Grand Prix season.

HIMX had the circuit in prime condition and with the sun beating down on thousands of spectators and everyone was in for a treat when the gate dropped at midday for the first MX2 race.

Nineteen year-old Goosen qualified 21st in timed qualification struggling to really hang it out at the beginning of the session when the track was less demanding.

In both races South African born Goosen had to work hard, and make use of his technical style as the Shropshire circuit got rough deep into the motos, as poor starts made life difficult in the beginning. Goosen powered his JAR Honda by Site Sealants CRF250R to two 13th place finishes in both races.

David Goosen – Rider: 13th – 13th

‘‘I felt good today as everything went smooth this week and I feel that I have learned a lot this weekend. I must say that it did feel a bit surreal sharing the circuit with lots of GP winners. I know that I have the speed now to take to the British Championship in a few weeks time. I am now looking forward to going back and preparing for the next British Championship race in two weeks time.’’

Dennis Amor – Team Manager

‘‘David did a great job today and rode with determination in both races. We really need to work on qualifying to give us a better chance of a good start. They were two very strong finishes as the field was a lot stronger than what David has ever competed against. The bike is working good and we should have some new parts to try for the next event so we are looking forward to that.’’

MX2 Race 1:

1. Ken Roczen GER

2. Joel Roelants NED

3. Dennis Verbruggen BEL

4. Matiss Karro LAT

5. Jake Nicholls GBR

13. David Goosen SA

MX2 Race 2:

1. Ken Roczen GER

2. Dennis Verbruggen BEL

3. Jake Nicholls GBR

4. Arnoud Tonus CH

5. Neville Bradshaw SA

13. David Goosen SA

Featured in this post


Next up in Team PR

Tough day at the office for LPE Kawasaki