Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Glenn McCormick dominates round 3 of Irish Championship

Glenn McCormick dominates round 3 of Irish Championship

The South East Club had the honour of hosting Round three of the Jim Jones Plant Hire Irish Championships at their track near Ferns Village in Wicklow.

In the Premier MX1 Class, multi Irish and Ulster Champion Larne’s Tommy Merton scored the overall win on his Monster Energy Kawasaki, scoring a win a second and a third, Ballygowan man Gary Gibson was second, also scoring a moto win on his Bannside Pallets & Haulage Suzuki, with form man Richard Bird third on his Suitor Bros Watt KTM, also scoring a moto win. Loughbrickland teenager John Meara finished fourth on his TMC Honda, with Michael Mahon from Dublin on the VMX KTM fifth andCombers Wayne Garrett on the JAR by IFS Honda sixth after tyre problems and falls ruined his challenge.

MX2 was again dominated by young Glenoe rider Glenn McCormick on his Agnew Recovery Watt KTM with a clean sweep of race wins, second with a treble of second places was Loughbrickland sixteen year old Jason Meara on the TMC Honda, and local man Jim O’Neill was third with three thirds!!

Fourth was Dromaras William Donnelly on his Yamaha, and Dublin riders Jordan Keogh and Shane Mulligan rounded out the top six.

Semi Expert MX1 was dominated by MRA riders with Saintfields Phil Harris taking the overall with one moto win on his Suitor Bros Watt KTM followed by Larnes Chris Lynd and Saintfields Mark Patterson on his Suitor Bros Watt KTM tied for second, Jordan McCaw, Ryan Glover and Christopher Orr rounded out the top six.

MX2 Semi Expert was also dominated by MRA riders with Millisle teenager Luke Smith taking the treble on his Kawasaki, second was a great result for young Ballyclare rider Ben Mottram on his Agnew Recovery Yamaha, third, Dublin rider Dylan Coffey, fourth was Carrickferus Karl Thompson on his KTM, with Anthony Brown and Kyle Beggs fifth and sixth.

Clubman MX1produced another triple winner in Moiras Jordan Blakeley on his Kawasaki with Stephen Poots second, Jonathon Martin third and Andrew McKibben fourth, fifth and sixth was taken by Aaron Jordan and Lurgans Chris Spratt.

Clubman MX2 produced a double winner for the overall in Chris Eccles from Comber on his Honda, with Markethill rider Scott Bailey second and Alexander Ellison third, southern riders Brian McCarthy andThomas Murdoch were fourth and fifth, and Bob Smith was sixth.


Next up in Industry PR

First British Youth Championship win for Scotland's John Adamson