Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Final season outing for Three Counties Classic Scramble club

Final season outing for Three Counties Classic Scramble club

Final season outing for Three Counties Classic Scramble club

On a fine autumn day with blue skies and plenty of sunshine the Three Counties Classic Scramble club hosted their final meeting of the year at the popular Tirley Court Farm circuit, near Gloucester. Recent rain made conditions tacky to start, but as the day went on the track dried out producing some great action in all classes. The event was well supported and smoothly run with classes catering for everyone from Classic’s to the Evolution machines, with a sidecar group thrown in for good measure.

First up were the Evo riders on machines up to 1989. This was basically a three horse race between James Herbert, Pauls Biggs and Matt Evans as they were neck and neck in every race. Herbert managed to keep ahead to win the opener over a very menacing Biggs. These positions were reversed in the follow up as Biggs got the better of Herbert, and in the final leg Evans tasted victory as he fought off Biggs, Gavin Hickman and Matthew Hitchman.

The “Twevo” class – for novice Twinshock and Evo riders had one of the biggest line-ups of the day. Nick Selwyn secured the overall on his Cagiva having a consistent day with a win and two seconds under his belt as Ben Dowdeswell, Glenn Selby and Andrew Buxton all had extremely pleasing rides filling the remaining overall vacancies.

A group of Pre 84 Sidecars were certainly a crowd pleaser and really kept the spectators entertained as they ripped up the track. Paul Harker and Dave Kiesslinger put together a score of 1-1-2 over the Father and Son pairing of Simon and Joe Chell, who found a clear track in the final encounter to edge their Norton Wasp ahead.

Pre 72 British Champion Chris Chell would no doubt be a firm favourite of any event that he would enter, and his winning streak continued as he totally dominated both of the Classic events on the days programme. In the Pre 77’s he took his Cheney BSA to a hat-trick of immaculate wins, bagging the overall honours over Alan Barnett and Glenn Morgan. It was business as usual in the Pre 68 class to boot, again looking comfortable for a clean sweep of wins and the best of the day over Carl Woollaston, Roger Dunford and Mitchell Harris.

Some of the closest racing of the day was supplied by the Twinshock class. In the first race it was Welsh Twinshock Champion Dan Evans who led through the first turns over Rotax mounted Richard Stiby, Kevin Butcher and Vince Larcombe. By the end of the first lap Stiby had managed to edge his Fourstroke ahead of Evans, remaining neck and neck throughout the race with Stiby winning by a whisker. In the follow up Evans led from the gate with Stiby on his tail for the whole duration, leaving Andy Mills a lonely third over Butcher. Stiby wasn’t hanging about in the last race – urging his Armstrong to the front right from the start line and never looked back. Evans tried all the moves but to no avail – Stiby was on fine form, taking a great win in superb style. Evans took second whilst Butcher and Mills had a race long tussle for third.

As a final treat for riders and spectators, the alcomers race at the end of the day brought the top solo riders together. Chell was quick to power ahead, throwing his classic to the front ahead of Biggs and Evans. Biggs soon hit the front en route to victory as Chell remained in second over Selwyn, Lee Hicks and Matthew Hitchman.

Overall Results
Evolution 1. Paul Biggs (Honda) 2. Matt Evans (Suzuki) 3. James Herbert (Kawasaki) 4. Paul Kirby (Suzuki) 5. Jordon Pope (??) 6. Gavin Hickman (Suzuki)

Twevo 1. Nick Selwyn (Cagiva) 2. Ben Dowdeswell (Kawasaki) 3. Glenn Selby (Kawasaki) 4. Andrew Buxton (Honda) 5. Stuart Selby (Yamaha) 6. Gwyn Hardwick ( Husqvarna)

Pre 84 Sidecars 1. Paul Harker/Dave Kiesslinger (Yamaha Wasp) 2. Simon Chell/Joe Chell (Norton Wasp) 3. Nick Leatherland/Paul Young (Yamaha Wasp) 4. Dave Burge/James Cuff (Yamaha Wasp) 5. Charles Chivers/Kevin Mullins (Rotax) 6. Neil Hiscock/Steve Baughan (Yamaha)

Pre 77 1. Chris Chell (Cheney BSA) 2. Alan Barnett (Montessa) 3. Glenn Morgan (CZ) 4. Pete Adams (CZ) 5. Sam Gittoes (CZ) 6. Gwyn Hardwick (Husqvarna)

Pre 68 1. Chell 2. Carl Woolaston (BSA) 3. Roger Dunford (BSA) 4. Mitchell Harris (BSA) 5. Kim Maddocks (Metisse) 6. Jordon Pope

Twinshock 1. Richard Stiby (Armstrong) 2. Dan Evans (Husqvarna) 3. Kevin Butcher (Suzuki) 4. Andy Mills (Maico) 5. Vince Larcombe (Monda) 6. Paul Evans (Honda)

Alcomers 1. Biggs 2. Chell 3. Selwyn 4. Hickman 5. Matthew Hitchman (KTM) 6. Jordon Pope


Next up in Industry PR

Nev Bradshaw finishes season in 5th at Maxxis championship