Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Dietrich Wins big in Vegas!

Dietrich Wins big in Vegas!


After a close second place finish at the opening round, Ricky Dietrich, the defending EnduroCross Champion suffered an injury at round two of the 2009 Geico EnduroCross Series presented by E3 Spark Plugs and was not a factor in the championship. But tonight, Dietrich played the role of spoiler. KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak had the $50,000 Geico Triple Crown bonus on the line if he could win the Vegas final. But Blazusiak did not get a great start and went down hard while trying to make up time on the first lap.

Muscle Milk KTM’s Mike Brown set the fastest hot lap to get the day started. Blazusiak had the second fastest time ahead of Sherco mounted Graham Jarvis, a top trials rider from the UK that is proving his ability at EnduroCross type events on both sides of the pond.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Destry Abbot competed in the Baja 1000 the day before and made the long drive to Vegas pay off by collecting the $500 Girardi Wealth Management Holeshot award to start the main event. His lead was short lived however as there was a lot of bumping and banging during the first lap and most of the field got stuck in the in the large rock pile. Christini KTM mounted Geoff Aaron took the lead and appeared to be on his way to his second main event win of the season but Dietrich pushed hard to close the gap and made a pass for the lead on lap six. Aaron held onto second while Damon Huffman won a race long battle with Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker for the final podium position. Taddy Blazusiak recovered from his first lap crash to finish fifth but has an extremely sore knee.

Blazusiak had already clinched the 2009 Geico Powersports EnduroCross championship and Geoff Aaron finished second ahead of Huffman. By finishing fourth overall in the series, Colton Haaker won the inaugural E3 Spark Plugs’ EnduroCross Pro Junior Championship, the series within a series that allows riders aged 16-21 to compete for an AMA number one plate. Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder finished fifth overall and second in the chase for the Junior Championship.

The Las Vegas EnduroCross final also played host to three classes of Amateur Grand Championships. Riders qualified by finishing in the top two at the previous five rounds to earn a place in the Amateur finals in Las Vegas. Geico backed Eric Rodgers won the Open Amateur title. Sixteen year old Ryan Sandoval won the TrialsCross title and Joe Kopp, the former Grand National Dirt Track champion won the Vet Grand Championship.

Image by Tony Scavo

Las Vegas, NV, Geico Powersports AMA EnduroCross Expert Main Event Results

1. Ricky Dietrich Kawasaki
2. Geoff Aaron Christini KTM
3. Damon Huffman Kawasaki
4. Colton Haaker Kawasaki
5. Taddy Blazusiak KTM
6. Cody Webb KTM
7. Bobby Prochnau KTM
8. Cory Graffunder Husqvarna
9. Mike Brown KTM
10. Graham Jarvis Sherco
11. Destry Abbott Kawasaki


Next up in Industry PR

Video: Chad Reed strengthens his lead in Oz SuperX