Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

De Dycker fifth in scorching hot Faenza

De Dycker fifth in scorching hot Faenza

De Dycker fifth in scorching hot Faenza

Ken De Dycker picked up another top-five finish today in Faenza, during the 15th round of the 2012 FIM MX1 World Championship. In the opening moto Ken made a strong ride through the pack to finish 4th. He added a seventh place to his scorecard for the day in the second race. Red Bull KTM team mate Antonio Cairoli raced to a double moto win and was crowned MX1 world Champion in front of his home crowd. De Dycker remains fifth in the MX1 World Standings.

The hillside Faenza track has seen the affable Belgian finish second on two previous occasions so it was no surprise to see Keeno on form again in Italy! After a third place in the pre-qualifying session De Dycker was keen to get a good start and make his way to the front as quickly as possible. Unfortunately a spectacular first stretch banging bars with Gautier Paulin was not what Ken needed. From outside the top he pushed on regardless and guided his factory KTM to sixth.

A festive atmosphere, positively hot temperatures and a loud cheerful crowd were the perfect background to Cairoli’s title chase. But Ken De Dycker didn’t disappoint either with a stellar peformance in the first sprint of the day. Although he crashed twice De Dycker recovered from as far as 21st to circulate in 8th place with five laps to go. The rough hard-pack track proved to be tricky to find overtaking opportunities, but not so for Keeno. Joining a thrilling four-man scrap for fourth all odds were against him to come out on top. Still Ken managed to pass Evgeny Bobryshev, Sébastien Pourcel and Tanel Leok. In the closing stages he even found his way past Shaun Simpson to finish fourth.
After a consistent, yet admittedly far more conservative effort in race two De Dycker came home seventh 12 seconds behind Bobryshev.

Ken De Dycker: “In the first moto I went down twice but I always remained composed. I was able to find some good lines and come back strong. So many KTM fans were cheering me on here and it was cool to take fourth place in that race. My start in the second moto was not so good. Almost immediately I suffered stomach cramps and felt like throwing up. I think the heat and my efforts of the first race demanded their toll. For the championship it was not such a great day for me. I’m 18 points behind Pourcel and 22 points behind Paulin now. It will be tough to finish 4th overall but I will give it all in Teutschenthal.”

MX1 Race 1 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:40.533; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:20.352; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:38.395; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull KTM), +0:43.878; 5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +0:46.102; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:48.912; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:50.670; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:56.385; 9. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +1:03.572; 10. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:08.859; 11. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +1:09.649; 12. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:26.719; 13. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:56.606; 14. Milko Potisek (FRA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 15. Bryan Mackenzie (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 16. Marc de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s); 17. Jamie Law (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 18. Augusts Justs (LAT, Honda), -1 lap(s); 19. Irwin Graeme (GBR, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 20. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 21. Mihail Cociu (MDA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 22. Alessandro Albertoni (ITA, Kawasaki), -2 lap(s); 23. Levy Batista (FRA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 24. Pier Filippo Bertuzzo (ITA, Honda), -2 lap(s); 25. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), -7 lap(s); 26. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), -13 lap

MX1 Race 2 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:58.407; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:00.744; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:22.031; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:29.496; 5. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:34.329; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:47.816; 7. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull KTM), +1:00.580; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:04.071; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +1:08.447; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:10.500; 11. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +1:15.100; 12. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:30.084; 13. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +1:36.003; 14. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), +1:38.914; 15. Milko Potisek (FRA, Honda), +1:57.779; 16. Marc de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), +2:37.102; 17. Jamie Law (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 18. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 19. Bryan Mackenzie (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Irwin Graeme (GBR, Yamaha), -1 lap(s);

GP of Europe classification 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 44 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 38 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 34 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull KTM), 32 p.; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 28 p.; 7. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 27 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 27 p.; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 27 p.; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 22 p.; 11. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 20 p.; 12. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 20 p.; 13. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 17 p.; 14. Milko Potisek (FRA, Honda), 13 p.; 15. Marc de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), 10 p.; 16. Jamie Law (GBR, KTM), 8 p.; 17. Bryan Mackenzie (GBR, KTM), 8 p.; 18. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), 7 p.; 19. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Yamaha), 4 p.; 20. Irwin Graeme (GBR, Yamaha), 3 p.; 21. Augusts Justs (LAT, Honda), 3 p.

FIM MX1 WK stand na 15 GP’s 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 642 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 554 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 502 p.; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 496 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull KTM), 478 p.; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 389 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 372 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 365 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 315 p.; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 298 p.; 11. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 295 p.; 12. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), 219 p.; 13. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 212 p.; 14. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 212 p.; 15. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 205 p.; 16. Matiss Karro (LAT, KTM), 112 p.; 17. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 104 p.; 18. Marc de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), 74 p.; 19. Cedric Soubeyras (FRA, Honda), 67 p.; 20. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 66 p.; 21. Milko Potisek (FRA, Honda), 65 p.; 22. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), 58 p.; 23. Dean Ferris (AUS, Kawasaki), 52 p.; 24. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Yamaha), 40 p.; 25. Matteo Bonini (ITA, KTM), 38 p.; 26. Augusts Justs (LAT, Honda), 37 p.; 27. Marcus Schiffer (GER, Suzuki), 33 p.; 28. Santtu Tiainen (FIN, Kawasaki), 32 p.; 29. Gert Krestinov (EST, Honda), 31 p.; 30. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Honda), 24 p.;

Ken De Dycker will race the final round of the Belgian Motocross Championship in Mont-Saint Guibert next weekend. De Dycker comfortable leads his domestic championship and as his eyes firmly set on his first ever professional crown.


Next up in Riders PR