Moto Magazine

Now Reading:



Teka Suzuki World MX1’s Ken De Dycker has taken 10th position at a weather-hit Grand Prix of France at the Ernee circuit for the eighth round of 15 in the FIM MX1 World Championship.

The Belgian steered his works RM-Z450 to third place in the first of two motos in windy and showery conditions and had to withdraw from the second race while holding second after a right foot-peg broke negotiating the rough French dirt.


Despite less than favourable weather forecasts, a 38,000 attendance still packed the natural amphitheatre at the venue almost 300km east of Paris. The twisty track benefitted from a period of heavy rain Saturday evening that helped to bed-in loose top soil but the stones in the French dirt meant that the terrain was still slippery. Strong gusts saw a thunder storm contrast with blue skies and even a small hail shower in the afternoon.

The 24 year old started from the 10th pick in the gate and flew up the start straight in the first moto to round the opening turns in second position. Through a relentless bout of rainfall and the muddiest circumstances seen since the opening round in Italy he quickly slotted into a rhythm holding third place and hung onto the back of David Philippaerts for at least half of the distance. His top-three result was the first since round five in Portugal. For the second outing he was comfortably in second position and looking forward to another podium appearance – in what would have been his fourth of 2009 – when disaster struck at almost half distance.

De Dycker is now sixth in the World Championship standings and 63 points from first place. He is just 20 points away from the top three.

Teka Suzuki WMX1 now has a free weekend before starting a spell of three Grands Prix back-to-back with trips to Germany, Latvia and Sweden next on the agenda.

Ken De Dycker – 10th:

“The day was going well until we had some bad luck. I had a great start but after about 15 minutes I must have had a hard landing and hit a rut because the foot-peg broke off and there is nothing that can be done about it. My riding was good, I was smooth and didn’t have to push to be fast, it is just disappointing about the DNF but we won’t think about the past now and just look ahead to what we can do in the coming GPs.”

Moto1: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 41:20.506; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:16.244; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), +0:47.406; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:58.202; 5. Mickael Pichon (FRA, Honda), +1:05.130; 6. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +1:08.726; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +1:29.764; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +1:50.119; 9. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +2:12.353; 10. Tom Church (GBR, CCM), -1 lap.

Moto2: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 41:08.999; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:12.302; 3. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:15.822; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:19.173; 5. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda), +0:22.343; 6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:24.320; 7. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:32.330; 8. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +1:12.048; 9. Mickael Pichon (FRA, Honda), +1:18.576; 10. Jason Dougan (GBR, CCM), +1:21.536; 25. Ken De Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1) 11 laps.

Overall Result: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 50 points; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 40 p.; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 36 p.; 4. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 33 p.; 5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 33 p.; 6. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 29 p.; 7. Mickael Pichon (FRA, Honda), 28 p.; 8. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), 25 p.; 9. Manuel Priem (BEL, Aprilia), 20 p.; 10. Ken de Dycker (BEL, BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 20 p.

MX1 World Championship Standings (after 8 of 15 rounds): 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 291 points; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 261 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 248 p.; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 238 p.; 5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 237 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 228 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 223 p.; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 215 p.; 9. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 120 p.; 10. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), 118 p.; 13. Steve Ramon (BEL, BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 100 p.


Next up in Team PR

Steffi Laier second in France for KTM