Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Congrats to Darren Banwell the 2012 SWOR Champion

Congrats to Darren Banwell the 2012 SWOR Champion

Congrats to Darren Banwell the 2012 SWOR Champion

Back on Saturday October 27th the final round of the South West off Road (swor) Motocross Championships took place at Little Silver Moto Parc Exeter. It was a brisk morning with the first major frost, but this didn’t deter a fair entry who were to compete yet again on a nigh on perfect track. In the Experts it was Darren Banwell on the 350 Maunders Racing KTM who had a slender 23 points lead over fellow Maunders rider and last years Champion James Kensington on 250 2-stroke KTM ahead of Michael Rowe on the 350 Tyremarks KTM who had won the last 2 rounds with a hat trick of wins and it was Rowe who continued his fine form, totally dominating the Expert class yet again with a hat-rick of wins. Kensington did his utmost in all three races finishing with a hat trick of 2nd’s, but all eyes were on Banwell who did have a scare in the second moto with his radiator steaming towards the end of the race, but he held good to the flag. Banwell had a leaking radiator and had to use his spare bike in the last race and needed to finish the race, which he did coming home in 4th which was to give him the 2012 Expert Championship.

In the Junior 125 class it was Luke Chanter who had a commanding lead going into the final round and it was he who was to show his class and was determined to win the Championship in style which he did with a hattrick of wins.

In the Junior Open class it was all to play for as there was just 12 points separating Simeone Loxley and Gary Jones. In the opening race it was Michael Rich with the best start and he was to soon be into a rhythm and eased away at the front to notch up his first race win in the Championship. Jones was to have a bad start and had to work through to take 4th just behind Loxley who was passed on the last lap by Graham Hookway. In the second moto it was Mark Bates who led for the opening lap before Loxley and Rich both passed him. Loxley was to keep Rich at bay for the remainder of the race to take the win, but not the best of races for Jones who eventually came home in 6th. As they went into the last race Loxley had a 24 points lead over Jones and it was a perfect start for Loxley who was to lead for the first 3 laps before being passed by Toni Burrows, then on the last lap Jones was to pass Loxley and Burrows to take the win, but with Loxley in 3rd he had clinched the Junior Open Championship.

In the Senior Championship Tallon Veale had a comfortable lead and all he had to do was to score well in the first two races. Joe Claydon was to win the first two races with Jamie Buckingham winning the last race, but with Veale consistant he was to win the Championship with ease.

In the inter Junior 9 – 13 years class it was young Jordan Veale who was leading the Championship by 29 points from Regan West, but it was wildcard entry 13 year old Brendan Cooper who was to blitz the field with a dominant hattrick of wins, West did beat Veale in all three races, but it wasn’t enough as Veale took the Championship by 14 points.

In the inter Juniors 14 -16 years class Ben Gibbons had a 74 points lead over Luke Parish who was in fine form as Parish was to take the overall on the day with a scorecard of 1-2-1, with Jordan Hembrow taking the other win, but with Gibbons taking 4th overall on the day, he had done enough and was Champion.

Final Championship standings
Expert Championship
1st Darren Banwell 1349 Points (Champion) 2nd James Kensington 1336 3rd Mike Rowe 1259 4th Joel Worthington 1018 5th Tom Gibbons 941 6th Jason Brooke 932

Junior 125 Championship
1st Luke Chanter 1356 Points (Champion) 2nd Alfie Dunn 1255 3rd Jody Bovey 1211 4th Ross Norman 1027 5th Steve Nicholls 1007 6th Alex Wilson 981

Junior Open Championship
1st Simeone Loxley 1356 Points (Champion) 2nd Gary Jones 1336 3rd Michael Yelland 1167 4th Graham Hookway 1102 5th Mark Tillyer 1092 6th Michael Rich 1073

Senior Championship
1st Tallon Veale 1342 Points (Champion) 2nd Andrew Watkins 1247 3rd Jack Cunningham 1084 4th Tom Cunningham 1043 5th Mark Ferris 1023 6th Aiden Newitt 976

Inter juniors 9 – 13 Championship
1st Jordan Veale 1390 Points (Champion) 2nd Regan West 1376 3rd Suzie Boyce 1335 4th Kyle Breslan 924

Inter juniors 14 – 17 Championship
1st Ben Gibbons 1430 Points (Champion) 2nd Luke Parish 1265 3rd Harvey Jones 1218 4th Chloe England 1144 5th Kieran Bradley 712 6th Megan Butler 607

Over 40’s Championship (contested over 4 rounds)
1st Chris King 472 Points (Champion) 2nd R Miller 394 3rd Lee Woodall 383 4th Adrian Putt 370 5th K Partridge 344 6th Andy Bate 324

Words and image by Dave Rich


Next up in Industry PR

Remi Bizouard wraps up world FMX title