Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Championship status quo for Jonathan Barragan

Championship status quo for Jonathan Barragan

The joy of the Belgian LS Honda Racing squad to be riding in front of their home crowd was overshadowed by unfortunate results. Spain’s Jonathan Barragan considers Belgium his second home but the former GP winner was not able to make an impact in Bastogne. On a more positive note team manager Steven Lettani and his team were pleased that their promotional efforts for the inaugural ‘MX Battle of the Ardennes‘ -sporting the GP Bastogne logo in the first seven Grand Prix- helped to make the event a success.

A weekend of contrasting weather conditions largely influenced the Sans Souci circuit and the weekend’s proceedings. Heavy rainfall through Saturday forced the qualification heats for both classes to be cancelled in the name of track preservation. Not being able to post a fast lap during the timed qualification session Barragan had to settle for 16th.

Luckily the sun came out on Sunday when 18,000 spectators surrounded the scenic track. After a mid-pack start Jonathan never really found his rhythm due to vision problems with his goggles.
Barragan tried to limit the damage and picked up 8 championship points with 13th place. In the second moto an early spill saw the Spaniard suffer a blow to the chest and he was forced to the paddock as he had trouble breathing. At the halfway point of the 2012 campaign the LS Honda Racing rider remains 13th in the MX1 championship standings. He’s only 19 points down on 11th placed Evgeny Bobryshev.

Jonathan Barragan: “In the first race I had a problem with the goggles in the first few laps and when some sand or dust came inside I couldn’t really see anything. I was thirteenth in that one, and then in the second I came off and hit the ground pretty hard. I couldn’t breathe and had to stop. Thankfully the scan showed there is nothing broken, but for sure this is a day to forget.”

MX1 Race 1
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:20.568; ; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:02.127; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:04.944; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:31.016; 5. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:36.324; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:37.570; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:43.854; 8. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:50.218; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:51.123; 10. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull-KTM), +0:53.502; 11. Matiss Karro (LAT, KTM), +1:06.344; 12. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), +1:20.546; 13. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, LS Honda Racing), +1:33.462; 14. Cedric Soubeyras (FRA, Honda), +1:38.937; 15. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +1:40.739; 16. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:41.805; 17. Milko Potisek (FRA, Honda), +1:43.072; 18. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Honda), +1:45.974; 19. Loic Leonce (FRA, Yamaha), +1:55.095; 20. Mark de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s);

MX1 Race 2
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:19.194; ; 2. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:04.597; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:09.786; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:10.625; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:36.754; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull-KTM), +0:42.862; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:44.952; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +0:52.345; 9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:53.004; 10. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:55.722; 11. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:56.505; 12. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:04.723; 13. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +1:06.549; 14. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +1:09.617; 15. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), +1:44.975; 16. Mark de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), +1:57.120; 17. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Honda), +2:07.791; 18. Matteo Bonini (ITA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 19. Loic Leonce (FRA, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 20. Jamie Law (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s); DNF Jonathan Barragan (ESP, LS Honda Racing)

GP of Belgium classification 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 40 p.; 3. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 38 p.;4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 36 p.; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 34 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull-KTM), 26 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 26 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 26 p.; 9. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 23 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 22 p.; 11. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 16 p.; 12. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), 15 p.; 13. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 14 p.; 14. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 13 p.; 15. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 13 p.; 16. Matiss Karro (LAT, KTM), 10 p.; 17. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, LS Honda Racing ), 8 p.; 18. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Honda), 7 p.; 19. Cedric Soubeyras (FRA, Honda), 7 p.; 20. Mark de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), 6 p.;

FIM MX1 Motocross World Championship standings after 8 GP’s
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 345 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 298 p.; 3. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 292 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 289 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Red Bull- KTM), 237 p.; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 212 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 211 p.; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 207 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 169 p.; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 168 p.; 11. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 137 p.; 12. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 125 p.; 13. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, LS Honda Racing), 118 p.; 14. Matiss Karro (LAT, KTM), 112 p.; 15. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 108 p.; 16. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 98 p.; 17. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 66 p.; 18. Dean Ferris (AUS, Kawasaki), 52 p.; 19. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), 52 p.; 20. Cedric Soubeyras (FRA, Honda), 34 p.; 21. Matteo Bonini (ITA, KTM), 26 p.; 22. Herjan Brakke (NED, Yamaha), 24 p.; 23. Santtu Tiainen (FIN, Kawasaki), 21 p.; 24. Milko Potisek (FRA, Honda), 21 p.; 25. Marcus Schiffer (GER, Suzuki), 14 p.; 26. Alfie Smith (GBR, Yamaha), 12 p

Round 9 of the FIM Motocross World Championship will take place at Uddevalla, north of Gothenburg, in 2 weeks for the Grand Prix of Sweden. Next week Jonathan will race the 6th round of the Spanish MX Elite series in El Molar.

Image by Ray Archer


Next up in Youth Stream