Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Youthstreams night of Awards

Youthstreams night of Awards

Youthstreams night of Awards

Following last years’ tradition, the Youthstream Awards Ceremony took place on day one of 2012 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations in Lommel in the beautiful VIP Hospitality. In a very friendly atmosphere, all the 2012 FIM Motocross World Champions were awarded, as well as all the best partners in this season that is getting to its end.

Paul Malin and Amy Dargan, two of the best well-known faces among the paddock, presented the ceremony to the around 470 guests and the entire paddock could also follow the ceremony thanks to big screens situated around the track. Mr. Giuseppe Luongo, Youthstream’s president, Mr. Vito Ippolito, FIM President, and Dr. Wolfgang Srb, FIM/CMS Director, welcomed everybody and they handed the awards to the 2012 FIM Motocross World Champions.

Among the awarded personalities, there was Roger De Coster, who received the Lifetime Career Award together with a beautiful painting by Rob Kinsey, and Massimo Zanzani was also recognized for his long career as photographer in the FIM Motocross World Championship. Paul Malin was surprised by Amy Dargan when she announced that the former MXoN winner had been awarded for being a great ambassador of the series and Paul Malin also received a fantastic painting by Rob Kinsey.

The organizers of the MXGP of Brazil, which took place in Beto Carrero, received the award for the best MX1 and MX2 organizer of the year, and the Italian track of Arco di Trento was the best organizer of the FIM MX3 World Championship. The Russian organizers were recognized for their great cooperation with Youthstream during the whole 2012 season and the Bulgarian Grand Prix received the award of the best MX1/MX2 paddock.

The list of the awarded personalities includes:

Caleb Grothues – 65cc Junior World Champion
Brian Hsu – 85cc Junior World Champion
Tim Gajser – 125cc Junior World Champion
Jeffrey Herlings – MX2 World Champion
Antonio Cairoli – MX1 World Champion
Matthias Walkner – MX3 World Champion
Kiara Fontanesi – Women’s World Champion
Darryl King – Veterans’ World Cup Winner
KTM – MX3 Manufacturer World Champion
KTM – MX2 Manufacturer World Champion
KTM – MX1 Manufacturer World Champion
Ben Popperwell – Mechanic of the Year
Xylian Ramella – 65cc UEM Champion
Davy Pootjes – 85cc UEM Champion
Tim Gajser – 125cc UEM Champion
Mel Pocock – 250cc UEM Champion
Red Bull KTM Factory Racing – MX2 Winning Team
Red Bull KTM Factory Racing – MX1 Winning Team
Hillinger KTM MX Racing Team – MX3 Winning Team
Russia – Semigorje – Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Cooperation
Brazil – Beto Carrero – Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Organizer
Italia-Arco di Trento – Motocross MX3 Best Organizer
Bulgaria-Sevlievo – Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Paddock
The Netherlands – Valkenswaard – Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Media Centre
Great Britain – Matterley Basin – Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Race Track

Roger De Coster – Lifetime Career Award
Massimo Zanzani – Lifetime Career Award
Paul Malin – Special Award for the Promotion of MX
Honda World Racing – Best paddock animation
Foxy – Winfield Award
Jill Cox Cairoli – The best attitude
Hans Kinigardner – Wings For Life
Geoff Meyer – Online Project of the year
Juan Pablo Acevedo – Photographer of the year
Pascal Haudiquert – Journalist of the year
Tim Gajser – “Jan De Groot” Award


Next up in News

Honda Europe confirms official partnership with Gariboldi Honda