Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Tonights Freestone Stats

Tonights Freestone Stats

Freestone will host its sixth Lucas Oil Pro Motocross National.

The Freestone National marks the lone Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship visit to the south-central portion of the United States.

This is the second consecutive season in which Freestone will take place on Memorial Day Weekend.

Prior to Hangtown last weekend, James Stewart’s previous overall victory was at Steel City in 2008. He raced just one National from 2009 through 2011.

Stewart now sits fifth on the all-time wins list with 17 victories.

The podium finishers at Hangtown were each making their Nationals debut for their respective teams.

James Stewart and Blake Baggett will wear the red number plates this weekend in the 450 Class and 250 Class, respectively.

Blake Baggett won his second consecutive race at Hangtown, the site of his first career win one year prior.

With the injuries to defending champions Ryan Villopoto (450 Class) and Dean Wilson (250 Class), there will be a pair of new champions in Lucas Oil Motocross in 2012.

450 Class Stats
The first Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship race at Freestone Raceway was held on September 2, 2007. Grant Langston won on a Yamaha en route to the series championship.
There has never been a repeat winner at Freestone in the 450 Class. James Stewart, Ryan Dungey and Mike Alessi are all former winners at the track.
Four of the five manufacturers have sat atop the podium.

Freestone wins by brand:
Suzuki: 2
Honda: 1
Kawasaki: 1
Yamaha: 1

Last win at Freestone by brand:
Honda: 2011
Suzuki: 2010
Kawasaki: 2008
Yamaha: 2007
Ryan Dungey is the only rider to claim his inaugural 450 Class victory at Freestone.

2012 Current Stats
450 Class Point Standings – After 1 of 12 rounds
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 50
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 42
3. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 34
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 34
5. Brett Metcalfe, Mannum, Australia, Suzuki, 34
6. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki, 29
7. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 29
8. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 26
9. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Kawasaki, 25
10. Nico Izzi, Rochester, Mich., Yamaha, 21

Overall Wins
James Stewart – 1

Moto Wins
James Stewart – 2

Overall Wins by Brand
Suzuki – 1
Laps Led (total)

James Stewart – 32
Mike Alessi – 2
Total: 34

250 Class Stats
The first 250 Class race at Freestone Raceway was September 2, 2007. Ryan Villopoto won on a Kawasaki.
Tyla Rattray became the fourth different winner at Freestone last season. Ryan Villopoto is the only repeat winner at the track.
With Rattray’s move to the 450 Class, Freestone will welcome its fifth different 250 Class winner in six years.
Kawasaki and Suzuki are the only brands to record wins at Freestone.

Freestone wins by brand:
Kawasaki: 4
Suzuki: 1

Last win by brand at Freestone:
Kawasaki: 2011
Suzuki: 2009
There has never been a first time winner at Freestone in the 250 Class.

2012 Current Stats
250 Class Point Standings – After 1 of 12 rounds
1. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 50
2. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 42
3. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 42
4. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 31
5. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 29
6. Martin Davalos, Quito, Ecuador, Suzuki, 25
7. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Yamaha, 25
8. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 25
9. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 23
10. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 22

Overall Wins
Blake Baggett – 1

Moto Wins
Blake Baggett – 2

Overall Wins by Brand
Kawasaki – 1
Laps Led (total)
Blake Baggett – 13
Ken Roczen – 12
Justin Barcia – 8
Total: 33

Past Winners
Wortham, Texas
450 Class
Date / Winner, Hometown / Machine
May 28, 2011 / Chad Reed, Australia / Honda
June 5, 2010 / Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN / Suzuki
June 6, 2009 / Mike Alessi, Victorville, CA / Suzuki
June 8, 2008 / James Stewart, Haines City, FL / Kawasaki
September 2, 2007 / Grant Langston, Clermont, FL / Yamaha

250 Class
Date / Winner, Hometown / Machine
May 28, 2011 / Tyla Rattray, South Africa / Kawasaki
June 5, 2010 / Christophe Pourcel, France / Kawasaki
June 6, 2008 / Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN / Suzuki
June 8, 2008 / Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, WA / Kawasaki
September 2, 2007 / Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, WA / Kawasaki


Next up in News

Party in the Milton Park for round 4 of British motocross Championship