Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

The Masters head to Landrake for some hot race action!

The Masters head to Landrake for some hot race action!


Following the fabulous Foxhills Wulfsport Masters round,its time for the series to reconvene again on the weekend of July 3rd/4th as Ken Winstanley and his enthusiastic band of helpers set up camp right down in the South West at Landrake.With just three more rounds remaining,the riders present will be hoping to get their hands on part of the big cash funds on offer as well as holeshot awards from Charge Clothing and some lovely prizes again supplied by Muk Junkie.

In a simply thrilling Wulfsport Pro MX1 class,Martin Barr and Stephen Sword scored the moto wins at Foxhills but its still Gordon Crockard who’s leading the series.Crockard’s efforts at the Wiltshire venue were matched though by his closest rival for the title at present,Scott Elderfield,and just 10 points still separates the two determined riders.After crashing in practice at Foxhills,American youngster Ben LaMay picked himself up to record a strong 2/2 scorecard,enough to also earn the overall runners-up spot on the day.Despite not competing during the opening round of the series at Mallory,LaMay is currently holding 3rd place in the Wulfsport Masters Pro MX1 series ahead of Barr,James Noble,Jamie Lewis,Nathan Parker,Wayne Garrett,Jamie Skuse and John May.

Wulfsport Pro MX2 series leader Elderfield and Barr took one moto win each during the Foxhills contest.But with Barr also crashing on the first turn of moto one and recording a DNF,it as seen the very consistent Elderfield open up a massive 111 points lead over 2nd placed James Dodd at the top of the Masters table with Barr in 3rd and a further 18 points in arrears.However don’t forget that Barr did not contest the opening round at Mallory Park and in the three remaining rounds is sure to bag some serious points as he first attempts to overhaul Dodd.Matthew Moffat, Luke Mellows,Brad Anderson,Neville Bradshaw,Lee Dunham,Richard Bird and Christian Taylor complete the top ten at present.Anderson in 6th and Bradshaw 7th are both inside that top ten despite both missing two rounds each whilst leading AMCA rider Dunham will be pleased with his current 8th spot after missing the Foxhills meeting due to IMBA MX2 European Championship commitments.

In the MXY2 series,Dan Thornhill,Ryan Williams and Alexander Hussey have proved the importance of consistency in a motocross championship season as they currently fill the top three Masters positions despite not boasting a single moto win between them so far.Early series leader Hussey was overhauled in the Masters table at Foxhills by both Thornhill and Williams who shared the podium with winner and very much in-form Luke Norris.After not competing during the opening two rounds,Norris has since won seven of the last eight motos and sits in 9th spot in the Championship behind James Dunn,Damon Wales,Jack Timms,Andrew Smart and Glenn Fletcher.

Just 35 points currently separate the top three of Sam Winterburn,Adam Darbyshire and Murray Clunie in the Moto-Pro Suspension BW85cc class,so with a possible maximum of 200 points available per round,this contest looks at present set to go right down to the final round at Pontrilas.Having finished top of the podium in all four rounds of the Moto-Pro Suspension SW85cc contest,Casey Connelly also naturally sits proudly at the top of the Masters series table.After grabbing podium places in the last three events,Tyron Cleaver is Connelly’s closest rival some 55 points in arrears with Charlie Hamlet,Henry Siddiqui,Jack Naylor and Lewis Wigger currently rounding off the top six.

Who can break the dominance of Zac Stealey and Tom Watts in the Kawasaki Masters class?.On only one occasion have they failed to fill the top two moto placings,what an incredible record!!.At Foxhills,Watts was the boss with four more impressive wins.Third overall during round four was Daniel Hill,a position he also currently holds in the Masters table ahead of the chasing Edward Briscoe,Ryan Blee,Ryan Pottenger,Lee Clarkson,John Robson,Patrick Collins and Ash Newton.

Having took overall victory in three out of four rounds,Shaun Scrivens currently leads the Michelin MX1 contest some 21 points ahead of Aaron Lowe.At present these two lads appear to be dominant and in control of their eventual Masters destiny as 3rd placed rider Ian Taylor is another 158 points in arrears.Over in Michelin MX2,series leader Scott Smith painfully crashed out during qualification at Foxhills and as a result has slipped down to 3rd in the Masters table.New Michelin MX2 pacesetter is Marc Roe who also topped the Foxhills podium ahead of Adam Savage and Nathan Buckland.

After only scoring points in his opening ride at Foxhills,Scott Beevers has now dropped down to 4th in the Amateur MX1 Masters behind Matthew Williamson,George Walton and Micheal Smith.So far,Lancashire youngster Williamson has picked up three out of four podium finishes and leads the series by 42 points.In GSP Race Products Amateur MX2,another big battle for the title is developing between two very consistent riders.Darren Carter the current leader has been on the podium in all four rounds whilst Daniel Brough has missed out on just one occasion.

Carter’s advantage at present is 26 points with Rick Lethaby in 3rd.

So that’s it then it’s time to go racing , why not sample for yourself a piece of the motocross adrenalin rush generated by the super Wulfsport British Masters series,your’e sure to be impressed!!.The Landrake Moto Parc,postcode PL12 5EP,should be signposted off the A38.

Words and image by Mike Wood


Next up in News

Yamaha stars pick their favorites for World Cup honours!