Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Kawasaki out in force in Belgium

Kawasaki out in force in Belgium

Kawasaki out in force in Belgium

Kawasaki will once again be strongly represented in this year’s FIM Motocross of Nations, the annual world team contest which takes place at Lommel in Belgium this weekend (September 29/30).

No less than 13 nations have placed their faith in Kawasaki riders as 33 countries from six continents converge on the famous sand track in the north-eastern corner of Belgium. Kawasaki will be particularly well-represented amongst the leading teams with four star riders on green machines at the start for last year’s top four nations. At last year’s event no less than four of the nine riders on the podium raced Kawasaki, including two of the winning America trio.

Blake Baggett will again represent the USA in the MX2 category and it is a tribute to Pro Circuit, Kawasaki’s top MX2 team in America, that they will provide the country’s MX2 rider on the Kawasaki KX250F for the seventh time in eight years as the USA attempts to secure an eighth consecutive victory.

Gautier Paulin, who concluded his rookie MX1 GP season in third place, and Kawasaki Racing Team colleague Xavier Boog have both been selected to race Kawasaki KX450F-SR machines for France, so narrowly defeated on home soil last year.

Tommy Searle, second in the FIM World MX2 Motocross Championship, will preview his 2013 season as he contests the event on a KX450F for Great Britain, while Marc de Reuver will head the Dutch squad, favoured to do well in their native sand, riding for F1 star Kimi Raikkonen’s ICE1 Kawasaki team.

Junya Takenaka will represent Japan while Filip Neugebauer and Milan Spicak race for the Czech Republic. More Kawasaki riders will also be at the start for Finland (Niko Koskela), Sweden (Kim Lindström), Latvia (Davis Livs), Lithuania (Matas Inda) and Iceland (Viktor Gudbergsson).

The Motocross of Nations is the most important motocross event in the world and has taken place annually for national teams since its inception in 1947. The United States of America, winner for the last seven years, top of the roll of honour in the previous 65 editions with a total of 23 victories ahead of Great Britain 16, Belgium 14, Sweden 7, Italy 2 with one victory each for France, Czechoslovakia and the Soviet Union. More than 50,000 fans from all over the world attend the event each year to see which country will retain the Peter Chamberlain Trophy and the honour of being the strongest motocross nation in the world for the next 12 months.


Next up in News

Josh Coppins last ever pro race is this weekend at the Nations