Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Jake Weimer Overcomes Hard Luck to Earn Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award at Hangtown

Jake Weimer Overcomes Hard Luck to Earn Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award at Hangtown

At last weekend’s season-opening round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, at Hangtown, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer embodied the never-give-up mentality that defines the Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award.

In the opening moto of the 450 Class, Weimer was struck with misfortune on the first lap of competition. As a result, he crossed the line in 40th place, dead last, making for a long start to the day. Rather than succumb to bad luck, Weimer fought back and passed six riders the very next lap. From there, the sophomore 450 Class rider put in a spirited ride, passing a total of 30 competitors en route to a 10th-place finish in the moto. A short time later, Weimer posted a sixth-place finish in the second moto to land a solid eighth-place overall finish.

By virtue of his relentless pursuit of a strong finish, Weimer is this week’s recipient of the RC Hard Charger Award, which will be given to him at the riders meeting prior to Saturday’s Miller Electric Freestone National, presented by Yamaha, in Wortham, Texas.

Weimer passed 30 riders in the opening 450 Class moto.

(Courtesy Simon Cudby)

The Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program also kicked off at Hangtown, recognizing the 450 and 250 Class riders who lay down the quickest lap time of the day in timed practice. In the 450 Class, Team Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart began an impressive return to Lucas Oil Motocross competition by posting a time of 1:58.579 to give him a near two-second advantage over the field. In the 250 Class, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett set the tone for a strong day by topping the charts with a 2:00.696, which garnered a half-second advantage over his competitors.

Both Stewart and Baggett carried over the momentum they gained in practice into the respective motos for each class, posting duplicate 1-1 moto scores en route to their respective overall victories. Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now have one point towards the season tally that will determined an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at season’s end.

Stewart (7) and Baggett (12) posted the quickest practice laps in their respective classes.

(Courtesy Simon Cudby)

This weekend’s Miller Electric Freestone National, presented by Yamaha, will take place on Saturday, May 26 from Freestone Raceway in Wortham, Texas. Action kicks off at 2 p.m. Eastern.


Next up in News

UEM EMX250 championship final round changed