Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Husqvarna Enduro Team looks for success at EWC GP in Italy…

Husqvarna Enduro Team looks for success at EWC GP in Italy…

The Enduro World Championship returns to action this weekend as the series moves to Castiglion Fiorentino in Italy for round five of the eight-event championship. With the GP of Italy taking place at the birthplace of enduro and rally legend Fabrizio Meoni, the Husqvarna Enduro Team by CH Racing are expecting to face a course every bit as tough as the former rally winner.

After a difficult couple of races, eight-time Enduro World Champion Juha Salminen will be determined to put his championship campaign back on track in Enduro 2. Hampered by niggling issues during the recent GP of Portugal, the Husqvarna rider knows that the rocky and technical terrain expected in Italy will be very much to his liking.

Currently sitting third overall in the E2 points chase a win in Italy will push the Finnish rider back into championship winning contention.

With Italy’s Alex Salvini set to miss his home GP due to Endurocross commitments of X Games in the US, France’s Romain Dumontier will compete alongside Juha in Enduro 2.

Following a lacklustre start to his season, Finland’s Matti Seistola returned to form with a pair of podium results in the Enduro 1 class at the GP of Portugal. Finishing third on day one before improving to second on day two, Seistola now sits joint fourth in the championship standings and only ten points shy of third. Feeling much more confident in his riding and boosted by his double victory at the final rounds of the Husqvarna backed British Sprint Enduro Championship in England, Seistola will arrive in Italy focused on continued success.

Recovered from his broken foot during the GP of Portugal, Spain’s Lorenzo Santolino will be looking to improve on his 11th position in the E1 current standings and show the same form in Castiglion Fiorentino that has saw him finish fourth twice already this season.

2012 Enduro World Championship Standings (after four rounds)
Enduro 1
1. Antoine Meo (KTM) 140; 2. Rodrig Thain (Honda) 109; 3. Eero Remes (KTM) 93; 4. Simone Albergoni (Honda) 83; 5. Matti Seistola (Husqvarna) 83… 11. Lorenzo Santolino (Husqvarna) 51…

Enduro 2
1. Pela Renet (Husaberg) 133; 2. Cristobal Guerrero (KTM) 3. Juha Salminen (Husqvarna) 100; 4. Johnny Aubert (KTM) 98; 5. Ivan Cervantes (Gas Gas) 92; 6. Alex Salvini (Husqvarna) 80… 16. Romain Dumontier (Husqvarna) 24…


Next up in News

Max Nagl is back