Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Fun Day at Mepal East Kent SSC

Fun Day at Mepal East Kent SSC

East Kent travelled to Mepal for their final meeting of the year. It was a chance for riders and their families to leave the leftover turkey at home and play in the sand for a few hours.

First out were the Autos with Joe Ross leading the pack ahead of Bobby Bruce & Alfie Card. Bobby soon took control of the race finishing ahead of Louie Kessell & Joe.

In the 1st junior race James Hanscomb led from start to finish with Ryan Mundell & James Hyett close behind. Gary Ashley had a brilliant race finishing 3rd after getting caught at the start.

After the remaining groups went out for practice the Autos and juniors went out for their 2nd motos.  Bobby Bruce led the 2nd Auto race from gate to flag followed once again by Louie in 2nd and Alfie in 3rd.

In the 2nd junior race Gary Ashley took the holeshot but a mistake saw James take the lead and the race ahead of the 2 Ryan’s, Rowland and Mundell.

The Small Wheels were next to race with Denny Rapson taking the first holeshot in front of Tommy Clark and Luke Horley. Albie Wilkie went on to win the race ahead of Tommy and Denny.

The Big Wheel group provided some entertaining racing with Will Jeonney taking the 1st holeshot. Rob Yates took the 1st win ahead of Jamie Carpenter & Will with less than 4 seconds between the 3 riders.

The seniors were next to hit the sand; Conner Clarke took the 1st holeshot ahead of Connor Dennis and Matt Callaghan. Conner Clarke went on to take the win with Liam Knight 2nd and Matt 3rd.

The AMX and Open raced together but were scored separately. Arron Jenner took the 1st holeshot ahead of Peter Wainwright & Dan Thornhill. The AMX race went to Shaun Springer with Peter & Piers Skinner not far behind and the Open race went to Arron ahead of Dan & Sam Simmons.

The final race for the Autos was done & dusted by 12.45 with Bobby Bruce leading from start to finish followed by Louie Kessell and Cameron Hayward. Alfie Card had an excellent days racing finishing 4th overall.

In the junior race Ryan Rowlands led at the start followed by Ryan Mundell & Ross Innocent. Gary Ashley went on to take the final win by half a second ahead of Ryan with James Hanscomb finishing 3rd. James Hyett rode extremely well to take 6th overall on the day.

Albie Wilkie led the 2nd small wheel race from start to finish, whilst Howard Wainwright held onto 2nd place ahead of Lewis Cloud.

The 2nd Big Wheel race once again proved to be exciting with some really close racing from start to finish, Jordan Moxey led the charge followed closely by Jamie Carpenter and Josh Gilbert, the result staying the same throughout the race.

Connor Dennis took the holeshot in the 2nd senior moto followed by Luke Gidney and Matt Callaghan, Matt went on to take the 2nd win by a margin from Conner Clarke and then Liam Knight in 3rd.

In the 2nd AMX/Open race Sam Simmons took the lead in front of Peter Wainwright and Dan Thornhill and with a bit of a pile up on the 2nd corner saw the riders battling for positions. Shaun Springer went on to take the AMX win with Peter in 2nd and Piers Skinner 3rd. Dan went on to take the Open win ahead of Arron Jenner and Sam.

The Small Wheel group was next to hit the track with Albie Wilkie storming to the front ahead of Sammy Price and Tommy Clark but after a crash on the 2nd lap Sammy took over the lead. Unfortunately bike problems forced Sammy out of the race, Tommy materialised on this racing to the front but a late burst by Denny Rapson saw him take the chequered flag ahead of Howard Wainwright and Tommy Clark. Jake Waterworth had a brilliant days racing finishing 5th overall.

Jamie Carpenter led the 3rd Big Wheel race for the majority followed closely by Scooter Webster and Rob Yates. Scooter and Rob finally managed to pass Jamie going on to take 1st and 2nd respectively ahead of Jamie. Oli Benton had a consistent days riding finishing 6th overall.

In the 3rd senior race Conner Clarke took the holeshot once again ahead of Connor Dennis and Macauley Madden. Conner led from start to finish with Matt soon settling in nicely in 2nd place, after a bad start Liam Knight fought his way through into 3rd place. Luke Gidney had an excellent days riding finishing 4th overall.

In the final race of the day Sam Simmons stormed to a credible win leading from start to finish followed by Dan Thornhill and Shaun Springer. Shaun went onto win the AMX race ahead of Peter Wainwright and Piers Skinner whilst in the Open race Sam won convincingly with Dan in 2nd and Joe Cundle 3rd.  Adam Cooper had a brilliant days riding finishing 4th overall in the AMX group.

We would like to wish all our riders a Happy New Year and see you all on the 22nd January at Newnham, the home of East Kent.

Autos1st Bobby Bruce  2nd Louie Kessell  3rd Cameron Hayward  4th Alfie Card  5th Joe Ross  6th Elis Orchard
Juniors1st James Hanscomb  2nd Gary Ashley  3rd Ryan Rowlands  4th Ryan Mundell  5th Ross Innocent  6th James Hyett
Small Wheel1st Howard Wainwright  2nd Albie Wilkie  3rd Denny Rapson  4th Tommy Clark  5th Jake Waterworth  6th Harry Pritchard
Big Wheel1st Jamie Carpenter  2nd Rob Yates  3rd Scooter Webster  4th Josh Gilbert  5th Will Jeonney  6th Oli Benton
Seniors1st Conner Clarke  2nd Matt Callaghan  3rd Liam Knight  4th Luke Gidney  5th Thomas Kirk  6th Macauley Madden
AMX1st Shaun Springer  2nd Peter Wainwright  3rd Piers Skinner  4th Adam Cooper  5th Adam Hawkins  6th Lee Birkby
Open1st Dan Thornhill  2nd Sam Simmons  3rd Billy King  4th Darren Murfitt  5th Luke Spillett 6th Tristian Ovenden


Next up in News

New role for Stu Flockhart at SACU