Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

EKSSC Winter Series Round 5 - Here Comes The Girl!

EKSSC Winter Series Round 5 - Here Comes The Girl!

Boy oh boy or should I say girl oh girl what a fantastic end to the winter championships at EKSSC as the final round was held at Newnham with quite a muddy start in store. It may have been cold and drizzly but that didn’t stop the riders from hitting the track. There was one little lady who was going to show the boys just what she is made of to take her first ever win and the overall moto in the Small Wheels. It was also to be a day for some of the riders to get their first ever wins at the club too.

Out first on the track were the Autos and can you guess who got the hole shot? Well it was Billy Carter as he charged his way up to the first bend with Ike Carter and the rest of the pack on his tail. Ike was having none of it as he came neck and neck with Billy to take the lead.  Rhys Cooper also joined the chase and battled hard to take a well-deserved second with Billy in third. It must have been a re-run in race two as the boys again finished in the same order. In race three Billy and Rhys swopped places as Billy took second behind his cousin Ike with Rhys in third.

Next were the Juniors and it was Perry Galloway’s day as he rode outstandingly to take all three wins and the overall moto. Jake Sinden enjoyed himself in the mud as he took second in race one with Brooke Chesney in third. Jake I know how you like the Newnham mud! In race two Brooke and Dave Capper took the remaining places and again in race three with Dave this time in second and Brooke in third.

What a blinding start to the Small Wheels as in race one Nathan Turner- Whittle rode fantastically and after a bit of bar bashing with Tom Borrett for the hole shot Nathan took it! And took it he did to get his first ever win. Tom Lockhart took second with Kyle MacGregor in third. Who at only 9 years of age was out in the group for the first time! In race two though lady luck was on Marni Saunders side as she took her first ever win with Nathan this time in second and Kyle again in third giving him third overall. Race three was Tom’s as he took the win with Marni in second giving her the overall moto with Gino Cannella taking third in the remaining race.

The Big Wheels excelled themselves once again! Connor Dennis was off to a flying start to take the lead from start to finish after taking the hole shot with Jimmy Moore in second and Joe Borrett taking third. Race two saw Connor out in front again with James Mester hot on his tail. Jimmy, Joe and Connor Lynds were not far behind looking for a piece of the action too. But half way through the race Connor dropped back due to a puncture which left the door open for the other boys. It was James who took the win his first ever at East Kent! Joe was this time in second with Jimmy in third. In race three there was another first ever win! This time for Jimmy Moore giving him his first ever overall win too with James this time taking second to claim second overall. Connor Lynds who rode extremely well in all three races took third and third overall.  Well done to James Medhurst, Marcus Annett and Elliott Sharpe to finish in the overall top six too.

John Waghorne and Joe Russell ruled the Senior group when they hit the track giving John all three and the overall moto with Joe taking second in all the blocks to take second overall. It was James Coker who took third in races one and two to take third overall and Andrew Deadman taking third in race three.

Lastly it was the turn of the Amx / Open groups as they ran together for this one. So the win in the Amx group was Rowan Hills for the taking as he took all three with Adam Cooper who had Rowan in his sights but just couldn’t find that extra power to snatch it took second in every race giving him second overall. There was a change for third in each race as Aston Day, Adam Hawkins and Ben Franklin took one a piece to earn them a place in the overall top six.

As for the Open group Craig Bliss got his first win since moving to the group in race one with Matt Hornby second and Dave Taylor in third. In race two Matt just had the edge on Craig to take the win with Craig in second and Paul Austin this time in third. Dave got the win that he had been waiting for in race three with Matt and Craig in second and third.

A big thank you and also well done must go to Mel Revell for clerking the course as it was her first time out there on her own and she did a great job. Oh and for all you riders out there EKSSC’s record for not cancelling a single meeting still stands as we didn’t cancel any of our winter meetings either!

Words by Tracey Whittam


SW – 1 Marni Saunders, 2 Tom Lockhart, 3 Kyle MacGregor, 4 Gino Cannella, 5 Eddie Hawkins, 6 Max Maxted.

BW – 1 Jimmy Moore, 2 James Mester, 3 Connor Lynds, 4 James Medhurst, 5 Marcus Annett, 6 Elliott Sharp.

SNR – 1 John Waghorne, 2 Joe Russell, 3 James Coker, 4 Lorenzo De Pasquale, 5 Andrew Deadman, 6 Gary Monks.

Open – 1 Matt Hornby, 2 Craig Bliss, 3 Dave Taylor, 4 Paul Austin, 5 Chris O’Hara, 6 Danny Birkby.

Amx – 1 Rowan Hill, 2 Adam Cooper, 3 Ben Franklin, 4 Aston Day, 5 Adam Hawkins, 6 Ewan Day.

Auto – 1 Ike Carter, 2 Rhys Cooper, 3 Billy Carter, 4 Bobby Bruce, 5 Kayden Algar, 6 George Mallion.

JNR – 1 Perry Galloway, 2 Brooke Chesney, 3 Dave Capper, 4 Kaine Moulton, 5 Tyler Chapman, 6 Kian Skinner.


Next up in News

Kawasaki UK team launch at Fat Cats Moto Park