Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

What a day at Brookthorpe

What a day at Brookthorpe

What a day Brookthorpe on the 11th of March turned out to be for South Somerset. This was Rnd two club champs, Elite Youth League and Grand Slam Qualifier. The weather was once again glorious and with another large entry and with some of the best riders in the South West, practice got under way with a lap of free practice, two laps followed for riders to set their best lap time for their gate pick.

MX1 were the first ones to launch out of the start gates with Jake Alsop heading the field, with Ricky Lethaby, Kurt Brain, Alex Hussey, Joe Barry and Darren Banwell chasing hard behind. In lap six Lethaby got the better of Alsop for the win, Hussey third, Brain fourth, Sam Chapman pressed hard to fifth and Michael White sixth.
In moto two Hussey got the hole shot and lead until lap five, where Lethaby took over for the win. Hussey, Chapman, Brain, James Price and Alsop followed respectively.
Moto three saw Brain lead until midway when Chapman made the pass and the win. Hussey never gave up and finished second, Lethaby third, Brain fourth, Alsop fifth and Banwell sixth.

Jansen Day was the first man to show in moto 1 of MX2, but not for long as something caused his race to end prematurely leaving Dan Thornhill out on his own. Portuguese star Duarte Claro still on his comeback gave a good race for second, Nicky Watts enjoying third spot, Tom Johnson fourth, Olly Jones screaming his 2 stroker to fifth and Haydn Crocker making sixth.
Moto two and Thornhill was in a class of his own right to the flag, Claro went down hard in the first lap and was out of it leaving Day to battle Thornhill to second spot, Watts still enjoying himself in third, Lee Foyle loving fourth place, Jones once again fifth and Johnson sixth.
Thornhill lead moto three from start to finish, Day having a good go for second, Watts enjoying third spot so much he stayed there, Foyle fourth, Jordan Broardway fifth and Haydn Crocker sixth.

The Rookies are always quick and in moto one Zac Alsop powered his TM to the front of the pack to take the win, Phoenix Tools pilot Loukas Maggio was knocking on the door but finished second, Simon Booth third, Kieran Banks doing a sterling job to finish fourth on his 125 smoker, Lee Truman fifth and Charlie Hamlett making the top six.
Alsop took moto two, Maggio once again second, Luke Sturgeon riding well for third, Booth fourth, Banks fifth and Hamlett sixth.
In moto three there was no change at the front with Alsop bagging his hatrick, Sturgeon second, Josh Broadway third, Hamlett jumping to fourth spot, Maggio dropping to fifth and Booth sixth.

The Big Wheels where next up and one lad was in sensational form taking three great wins and that was Josh Gilbert, Joe Jefferies had a go but had to settle for three second places, Billy King just couldn’t get out of the gate and had two thirds and a fourth in moto three, Jamie Buckingham two fifths and a third spot, Lewis Dowdeswell two fourths and a fifth to finish, with Callum Ford making the top six with two sixths and a seventh place.

Bradley Flagg looked at ease with three wins in the Small Wheels, Lucy Calvert did lead the boys around Brookthorpe for a while but finished with a very respectable bag of two seconds and a seventh, Josh Greedy enjoying a third place and two fourths, Jack Jones had a fourth, a third and to finish a sixth, Jack Booker got better as the day went on with an eighth, a fifth and a second and Casey Williams making the top six with a fifth in moto one, an eighth in moto two and third in moto three.

The Juniors next up saw Conor Ford take three great wins a head of Callum Gasson with sixth in moto one, second in moto two and to finish, third in moto three, Tyler Rowe riding well to third spot with a second, a fifth and fourth, James Hanscombe had a seventh, and a fourth and fifth, Ben White on his first outing this season with us got stuck right in for fifth place with a credible third, a seventh and tenth to finish. Making the top six was young James Rowe, having fourth in moto one, tenth in moto two and eighth in moto three.

The Autos rode a slightly shorter Brookthorpe and one pilot couldn’t be caught, young Harvey James had three well earned wins, Dylan Cadwallander rode well with three second places, Finley James taking a sixth, and two thirds. Fourth spot was taken up by Jake Pascoe with third place in moto one, fifth in moto two and sixth in moto three. Alfie Calvert gaining in confidence rode to fifth overall with two fourths and a seventh in moto three. Rounding up the top six was Edward Hoddinott with a fifth, a sixth and a fourth in moto three.
All in all another fantastic days racing on a difficult and demanding track, but tracks like this is where future champions are made, that’s why we use them!

1st Ricky Lethaby 1st Dan Thornhill
2nd Alex Hussey 2nd Nicky Watts
3rd Sam Chapman 3rd Olly Jones
4th Kurt Brain 4th Haydn Crocker
5th Jake Alsop 5th Ashley Cotterell
6th James Price 6th Tom White

Rookies Big Wheels
1st Zac Alsop 1st Josh Gilbert
2nd Loukas Maggio 2nd Joe Jefferies
3rd Simon Booth 3rd Billy King
4th Luke Sturgeon 4th Jamie Buckingham
5th Kieran Banks 5th Lewis Dowdeswell
6th Charlie Hamlet 6th Callum Ford

Small Wheels Juniors Autos
1st Bradley Flagg 1st Conor Ford 1st Harvey James
2nd Lucy Calvert 2nd Callum Gasson 2nd DylanCadwallander
3rd Josh Greedy 3rd Tyler Rowe 3rd Finley James
4th Jack Jones 4th James Hanscombe 4th Jake Pascoe
5th Jack Booker 5th Ben White 5th Alfie Calvert
6th Casey Williams 6th James Rowe 6th Edward Hoddinott


Next up in News

West of England Youth MX Championship