Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Canada Heights hosts the final stop of the 2012 BSEC series

Canada Heights hosts the final stop of the 2012 BSEC series

It’s crunch time for the Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship as the series heads to Canada Heights this weekend for the final two rounds of the series. And with free spectator entry on Saturday, June 16, courtesy of Watling Tyres and Michelin, it’s an event not to be missed.

The first time the series visits the Canada Heights motocross circuit, it’s TM’s Jordan Rose that enters the final rounds of the season as leader of the competitive Elite championship. Heading his nearest challenger, KTM’s Daryl Bolter, by a slender 14 points, Rose has been one of the standout performers of the year so far and will be hoping to secure his first major enduro title. Clinching a double victory at rounds five and six of the series the former motocross rider will face stiff competition, not least from Bolter, Tom Church, and visiting Finnish rider Matti Seistola.

Yet to secure a win in 2012, Bolter heads into this weekend focused on delivering a top result. Knowing that only victory will ensure he stands a chance of becoming champion, Bolter will be going all-out for success. Sitting third overall and just five points adrift of Bolter, KTM’s Tom Church will also be a hot favourite for victory.

Aiming to cement their places inside the top five of the championship Husqvarna’s Jamie Lewis, Husaberg’s Simon Wakely, Honda’s Lee Edmondson and Kawasaki’s Mark Roberts will be determined to become spoilers in the championship fight. Adding in the last minute addition of Husqvarna’s Enduro Factory rider Matti Seistola ensures an explosive end to this year’s championship final. Seistola, who is one of the leading riders in the Enduro 1 World Championship, will be sure to spice the racing up this weekend.

With the Under 23 championship yet to be decided, defending champion Gas Gas’ Danny McCanney heads to Canada Heights with a comfortable points lead. Claiming victory at four of the eight rounds so far, McCanney leads second place Jonny Walker (KTM) by 12 points. However, with Walker absent due to overseas commitments, it’s Husaberg’s Alex Rockwell who’ll present the biggest threat to McCanney. With Walker absent, Husqvarna’s Jack Rowland, KTM’s Lewis Belfield and Frazer Norrie (KTM) will be keen to record a top three result.

Remaining unbeaten so far in 2012, KTM’s Steve Holcombe is already crowned Under 19 champion. But with the possibility of a perfect season still up for grabs he’ll be charging hard for victory this weekend. Behind him the battle for the remainder of the podium positions is expected to be a fierce one between James Dent (KTM), Robert Johnson (Husqvarna), Aaron Smith (Husaberg) and Joe Wootton (Kawasaki).

Securing a double victory at rounds eight and nine in Adstone, Husaberg’s Tyson-Maytom Jones leads the Expert class. However, with a slender lead over both Richard Ely (KTM) and Oliver Hart (KTM), Maytom-Jones is far from assured of becoming champion just yet. Adding in Jack Lee (Gas Gas), James Jackman (Honda) and Daniel Beaven (KTM) and the fight for a top five result in Experts remains as tight as ever.

In the 125 Youth Cup KTM’s Brad Freeman is the rider on top form at the moment. Claiming double victories at both Saints Well and Adstone, Freeman will be hoping another strong ride will help him to be crowned champion. Lee Sealey (KTM) and Josh Gotts (TM) and Jack Staines (Yamaha) are sure to be in the mix as well.

In the Clubman class TM’s Gethin Francombe is the championship favourite with a 29-point advantage over his nearest rival Richard Topping (Honda), while Jason Corden (KTM) and Aaron Martin (KTM) and Ian Smart (KTM) round out the top five.

KTM’s Jane Daniels already clinched the Women’s class in Adstone but with the remainder of the podium positions yet to be decided between Rhian George (KTM) and Katie Walker (KTM) it’s still all to play for.

Further information can be found at the championship’s website

Spectator Info


Situated off Button Street, Swanley, Kent, BR8 8DX, which is off the A20 between Farningham and Swanley. Leave the M20 or M25 at the Swanley Inter-change (Junction 3 M25) following the brown Brands Hatch chequered flag signs. On the roundabout underneath the motorway pick up the event signs.

Postcode: BR8 8DX.

Entry Fee:

Free of Charge on Saturday, June 16th. Sunday, June 17th – Adults £10.00 each, includes championship programme. Under 14 year olds free. Overnight camping £10.00


Vehicles will be parked on a generous, flat parking area a stone’s throw away from the start/finish area.

General info:

Racing starts at 9.30am both days. A sighting lap (starts 9.00am) and four timed laps will take place during the morning session before a 30-minute break. A four-lap afternoon session will then take place. Catering & Toilet facilities will be available on site. On Sunday the event will end with a prize giving ceremony.

Featured in this post


Next up in News

High Fives with Ken De Dycker