Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

British Masters Gallery and report from Hawkstone Park

British Masters Gallery and report from Hawkstone Park

It’s many congratulations to both Bryan Mackenzie and Dan Thornhill who can now sit back and enjoy the spoils of victory after bagging enough points to deservedly wrap up their respective Pro MX2 and MXY2 titles during the AMCA promoted Wulfsport British Masters at the famous Hawkstone Park during last weekend.Bryan finished 2nd overall behind a delighted Steven Clarke whilst the talented Dan went one better to top his class and finish the job in style.For the other riders with title aspirations in the 2011 Masters,it will be though a nervous four week wait before the final round at Dean Moor on September 10th/11th with still another nine titles up for grabs.

Back to the Champions though,and Thornhill opened his Scott Acerbis MXY2 account at Hawkstone in the best way possible by recording a moto win ahead of Bryn Clarke,Rob Muscat and Adam Darbyshire.In the remaining races it was victory to Clarke,Thornhill again and finally Damon Strydon.So with Suzuki Youth GB star Thornhill already the king,mathematically Jay Thomas,Andrew Smart,Darbyshire,Ryan Williams and William Orritt will fight for the right to earn the silver and bronze medals in this class.

With his closest rival James Dodd a non-starter in Pro MX2 at Hawkstone,Bryan Mackenzie knew that a strong performance could well help him claim that crown.It did though not start too well for the Maxxis Henderson LPE Kawasaki pilot,falling on turn two and being relegated to last.After a great opening four laps,Bradshaw swooped past Steven Clarke and into the lead to take the first Pro win of the day whilst Mackenzie got  back to earn a great 3rd.

In a dramatic Pro MX2 moto two clash,Clarke again led the way under severe pressure from Bradshaw and Mackenzie.Lap seven and Bradshaw hit the front quickly followed through by Mackenzie but the leaderboard was to change just two laps later as first Bradshaw’s bike seized forcing him to retire then Mackenzie fell. Clarke then regained the moto advantage before scorching onto earn the win and overall verdict.Mackenzie eventually did regain forward momentum to get home in 2nd,enough to secure the title whilst New Zealander Phillips bagged his best result of the season to take 3rd overall.

Doubling up,Bryan Mac also contested the Pro MX1 class at Hawkstone and featured in a super opening race.For the first four laps of moto one,it was a LPE Kawasaki one-two as Gert Krestinov lead Mackenzie with Brad Anderson hot on their heels and looking for a way through.In typically determined fashion,’Ando’ was not to be outdone and just two fast circuits later was out infront and on his way to victory,another step closer to the Wulfsport Pro MX1 title.Taking 4th in this clash was Irishman Stuart Edmonds with Ross Rutherford 5th and Matthew Moffat 6th.

Pro MX1 moto two and it was Anderson all the way with Krestinov and Mackenzie chasing hard.On this occasion, Josh Waterman had been holding a strong  4th before dropping back to finish 11th,so it was Moffat,Rutherford and Kieran Shield who instead completed the top six.With one round remaining,’Ando’ leads the way and barring disaster should wrap up the crown in the opening  moto at Dean Moor.

Looking for a tight finish,then how about the Michelin Masters MX2 class when after 24 races just an incredible five points separate leader Jack Jones and Jamie Thompstone with also Aiden Wigger and Emerson Jones still with a mathematical chance of snatching the title!!.At Hawkstone it was certainly advantage Jack Jones as he bagged three moto wins and the overall victory ahead of Emerson Jones and Tom Smith whilst Thompstone had to settle for 4th. Over in Michelin MX1,it’s slightly less tense but certainly still not decided.Isle of Man rider Darren Fowden finished 3rd overall during the latest action and holds a 90 point cushion with Tom Davies in 2nd spot.Bagging the MX1 moto wins in the Shropshire sand were Sam Kirby the overall victor and runner-up Josh Scott.

Although youngster Tommy Alba aboard a 250cc two-stroke Kawasaki recorded a maximum points score at Hawkstone in the DK Off-Road Kawasaki  MX1 class,its Chris Neesam who still leads the title chase,just 7 points ahead of Ryan Bruce.Despite riding with a sore back,Neesam bravely kept his Championship hopes firmly alive by earning 4th overall behind Alba,Bruce and Dale Brockhurst.In DK Off-Road Kawasaki MX2 though,the Championship leadership as changed with Paul Neale back in control but just 14 points ahead of Gareth Padgett.During  the weekend,Neale was certainly the boss,bagging four crucial race wins with Padgett getting home in 2nd overall ahead of Richard Gray and Taylor Dodds.

What an unpredictable contest the GSP Race Products Amateur MX1 title chase is proving to be with AMCA Championship riders Luke Meredith and Shaun Pearce filling the top two places on the Hawkstone podium despite not bagging a moto win.In a reversal of fortunes,Jake Boyes took the race one honours before fading,whilst after picking up just 33 points from the opening two clashes,Glenn Fletcher then earned himself a moto win brace.Going into the final event at Dean Moor though,its 250cc two-stroke pilot Daniel Brough who gloriously leads the way,36 points ahead of Jamie Dobson with Michael Reynolds in 3rd.

Incredibly,36 points is also the gap that separates Amateur MX2 leader Ricky Lethaby and Aled Bellis.At Hawkstone though,it was victory to current 3rd place rider Edward Briscoe ahead of Lethaby,Charles Statt and Bellis in 4th.Statt on the two-stroke TM took two moto wins in the sand and along with Briscoe could still snatch the Masters crown in this class should the top two fail at Dean Moor.

In Moto-Pro Suspension racing for 85cc machines,victory in both classes went to riders making their first Masters appearances of the season as Josh Gilbert and Mitchell Lewis topped the respective BW and SW classes.In BW racing, series leader Curtis Blamey picked up the opening moto win of the weekend although a race three DNF was to restrict him to 7th overall.Eventual overall victor Gilbert was joined on the podium by Robbie Dowson  and Greg Hyett.Over in the SW85cc class,Lewis(3) and Ethan Gatenby took the wins with Bradley Malin and George Sim-Mutch joining Lewis on the Hawkstone podium.Despite being restricted to a 9th overall finish following a moto three DNF, Henry Siddiqui still heads the title race although Malin has closed the gap down to 59 points.

Words and images by Mike Wood


Next up in News

Campano to replace Philippaerts