Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

2012 New Zealand Championship round 3 VIDEO

2012 New Zealand Championship round 3 VIDEO

Ben Townley has continued on his winning ways at round 3 of the New Zealand senior national motocross championships held at Mr Motorcycles Raceway Pukekohe on Sunday the 4th of March.

Townley did not have things all his own way at round 3, after winning moto one, the current championship leader had to work his way through the field in moto two after a first turn crash left him on the ground. A determined ride pushed Townley past every rider bar one during the moto, managing to finish second behind Josh Coppins.

Townley went on to win the third moto for the day just ahead of Yamaha Mounted Coppins giving him the overall for the day by just three points over Coppins and third placed Cody Cooper who endured some unfortunate luck throughout the day.

Though Townley won the overall for the day, things did not go exactly to plan for the former MX2 world champion.

“Though I won the overall today it was not the day we were looking for, it was a tough day today” stated Townley.

“ I had a huge week in Australia getting ready for that season which didn’t help matters today, but in saying that there were certain things that were good for me to be able to practice from the weeks testing, so it was good to see where I was at with that.”

“Ill take a few days then I have few tracks around my place which I can ride getting ready for Taupo, hopefully I’ll finish it off at Taupo which will be a good start for this season and heading into the MX Nationals in Australia” concluded the Carlton Dry Honda / Thor racing rider.

2012 NZ Senior MX Nationals – Round 3 MX1

1st Ben Townley 72 pts
2nd Josh Coppins 69 pts
3rd Cody Cooper 55 pts
4th Justin McDonald pts
5th Hamish Dobbyn 48 pts
6th Hayden Clark 43 pts
7th Matt Hunt 40 pts
8th Michael Phillips 39 pts
9th Mason Phillips 37 pts
10th Brad Groombridge 34 pts

Championship Results after Round 3

1st Ben Townley 222 pts
2nd Josh Coppins 201 pts
3rd Cody Cooper 168 pts
4th Justin McDonald 149 pts
5th Michael Phillips 141 pts
6th Hamish Dobbyn 140 pts
7th Brad Groombridge 115 pts
8th Mason Phillips 111 pts
9th Nick Saunders 102 pts
10th Matt Hunt 86 pts


Next up in Videos

Coronation Street VS Motocross