Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

2012 Women’s Motocross Championship to Once Again Feature Eight Rounds of Action

2012 Women’s Motocross Championship to Once Again Feature Eight Rounds of Action

The Women’s Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, (WMX) returns for another eight-race schedule for the 2012 season of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. Perennial rivals Ashley Fiolek and Jessica Patterson have won the past four WMX Class titles and will once again lead the world’s fastest women into action for what is sure to be a highly-competitive summer.

The WMX Class will be showcased as the first set of motos at each of the eight rounds of the championship. As in years past, the women will engage in a pair of 15-minute motos to determine an overall winner. The gate will drop on the WMX Class’ opening moto to kick-start the day’s festivities, with the second moto following just prior to intermission.

“The WMX Class is always an exciting battle and you can expect that to continue this summer,” said MX Sports Pro Racing President Davey Coombs. “Over the last four years, the quality of racing has gotten better and better thanks to a continued increase in the depth of talent. The championship has clearly emerged as the world’s premier series for female riders and the WMX Championship boasts more factory-supported riders than ever before.”

The 2012 season will also mark the WMX Class’ return to television. Each round of the championship will be featured in the weekly Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Highlight Show on NBC Sports, recapping the captivating moments and storylines of all eight Nationals.

The WMX season kicks off on May 21 from the Hangtown Motocross Classic in Sacramento, Calif. Fiolek and Patterson will be challenged throughout the summer by veterans Tarah Gieger and Mariana Balbi, in addition to up-and-coming riders like Jacqueline Strong, Vicki Golden and Sayaka Kaneshiro.

Following Hangtown, the schedule will take the women to staple racetracks – Freestone, Thunder Valley, RedBud, Spring Creek, Moto-X 338, and Steel City – before joining their male counterparts in the 250 and 450 Classes at the inaugural race at Lake Elsinore Motorsports Park, the 2012 season finale.

2012 Women’s Motocross Championship Schedule
May 19 FMF Hangtown Motocross Classic Sacramento, Calif.
May 26 Freestone National Wortham, Texas
June 2 Toyota Thunder Valley National Lakewood, Colo.
July 7 Red Bull RedBud National Buchanan, Mich.
July 14 Spring Creek National Millville, Minn.
August 11 Moto-X 338 National Southwick, Mass.
September 1 Steel City National Delmont, Pa.
September 8 Lake Elsinore National Lake Elsinore, Calif.


Next up in News

Traxx Factory Feat. Gautier Paulin