Moto Magazine

Now Reading:

Rain on the Rock! South Somerset Club Report

Rain on the Rock! South Somerset Club Report

On the 24th of June, South Somerset visited a very wet Rockhampton for Rnd 6 of their club champs and Rnd 4 of the West of England. With over 200 booked in , expectations were high for a fantastic meeting.
The track was in great shape until heavy overnight rain made the track very wet and stodgy. With practice underway and traction proving difficult our Chief Clerk decided to practice and then race the big bikes to give the smaller bikes half a chance. What a wise decision that turned out to be.

MX2 were the first to brave the conditions and Ross Churchill braved it the best with a great win in moto one, Adam Morris second with Haydon Crocker in third spot, Thomas Wilkins fourth, Ryan Harris fifth and Olly Jones coming back from injury in sixth place.
In moto two Jordan Barrs took a great win with Churchill second, Jordan Broadway having a better ride to third spot, Jones fourth, Gerwyn John Exon fifth and Myles Baldwin rounding off the top six.
Moto three saw Broadway up his game to the top spot, Churchill consistent with another second, Jones keeping up his good day with third, Exon fourth, Baldwin fifth and Barrs this time settling for sixth.

MX1 were next out to brave the difficult track, with Luke Dean showing his class with a brilliant ride for the win, Bradley Wheeler chased Dean all the way but had to make do with second, Will Payne third, Adam Harris fourth, Scott Ardren still on his way back to full fitness with fifth and Simon Hart sixth.
Moto two saw Dean and Harris have a good battle with Dean hitting the checkered first, Ardren third, Anthony Milliar fourth, Payne fifth and Jason Harris sixth.
In moto three Dean and Harris picked up from where they left off in moto two with another great battle, Dean once again took the win,Harris second, Wheeler third, Ardren fourth, Payne fifth and Milliar sixth.

The Rookies had by this time arguably a slightly easier track with Jake Penny taking full advantage and took the win ahead of Christopher Grindle second, Lee Truman third, Chase Neale fourth, Jack Timms fifth and Josh Broadway sixth.
In moto two Penny didn’t get it all his own way as Timms took the win, Penny second, Grindle this time third, Joshua Pitt fourth, Truman fifth and Fraser Gardiner sixth.
Penny didn’t mess around in moto three and took the win a head of Timms, Broadway third, Truman fourth, Neale fifth and Pitt sixth.

The Small Wheels and Big Wheels ran together making for a full line up. Billy King coming out on top in the BW with Aaron Booker second, Tyron Cleaver third, Jack Roberts fourth, Callum Ford fifth and Jack Sherwin sixth.
In the SW Harry Pritchard and Bradley Flagg kept up their epic season’s racing this year, with Pritchard claiming the win ahead of Flagg, Lucy Clavert continuing her great season for third, Jaydon Murphy fourth, Casey Williams fifth and Jack Jones sixth.
In moto two King was still setting the pace edging the win ahead of Cleaver after a good battle, Roberts third, Ford fourth, Jamie Harris fifth and Booker sixth.
Pritchard again pipped Flagg for the win in the SW, Williams third, Murphy fourth, Jones fifth and Dean Palmer sixth.
Cleaver in moto three took full advantage of King’s bad start and pushed hard to take the win a head of Booker in second, King making good ground to finish third, Roberts fourth, Ford fifth and Harris sixth.
Pritchard ended the day unbeaten in the SW chased home by Flagg, Murphy third, Archie Hicks banging in there with fourth, Calvert fifth and Palmer sixth.

The juniors had to wait a while to gain access to the Rockhampton track and as conditions improved they were out on the track. In moto one Callum Gasson just pipped Ryan Rowlands for the win, Connor Ford third, Dominic Lancett fourth, Aaron Colley fifth and Preston Williams sixth.
In moto two Gasson beat Rowlands by a second after having a great race together, Ford third, Lancett fourth, Colley fifth and Williams sixth.
Gasson went on to take the win in moto three just ahead of Ford in second, Lancett third, Rowlands fourth, Williams fifth and Samuel Roberts sixth.
The Auto’s were out last to give them the best possible track conditions on a slightly shorter track saw Billy Duke take the win ahead of Vinnie Ray Guthrie in second, Harvey James third, Charlie Palmer fourth, Dylan Cadwallander fifth and Jake Pascoe sixth.
In moto two Guthrie rode a blinder for the win ahead of James in second, Duke third, Palmer fourth, Pascoe fifth and Tommy Stone sixth.
Moto three saw some more fast riding by these little warriors and in this one James came out on top a head of Duke in second, Cadwallander third, Pakmer fourth, Guthrie fifth and Pascoe sixth.

All in all, the day started out with a very difficult track but was still mastered by almost all that braved the conditions, and by the end of the day conditions were near perfect, credit should be given to all those that worked tirelessly to make the meeting the success it turned out to be. Well done!!
Many thanks to Albion Motorcycles for their support with the West of England Championship and congratulations to Efan Loring in the Juniors who finished 10th place overall and won the £25 gift voucher.

1st Harvey James 1st Callum Gasson
2nd Billy Duke 2nd Conor Ford
3rd Vinnie Ray Guthrie 3rd Ryan Rowlands
4th Charlie Palmer 4th Dominic Lancett
5th Dylan Cadwallander 5th Preston Williams
6th Jake Pascoe 6th Liam Gale

1st Harry Pritchard 1st Billy King
2nd Bradley Flagg 2nd Tyron Cleaver
3rd Jaydon Murphy 3rd Aaron Booker
4th Jack Jones 4th Jack Roberts
5th Lucy Calvert 5th Callum Ford
6th Dean Palmer 6th Miles Jones

1st Jake Penny 1st Lee Truman
2nd Jack Timms 2nd Daniel Crocker
3rd Josh Broadway 3rd Jordan Muscato
4th Joshua Pitt 4th Charlie Page
5th Fraser Gardiner 5th Craig Lawrence
6th Chase Neale 6th Dan Wheelan

1st Ross Churchill 1st Luke Dean
2nd Olly Jones 2nd Adam Harris
3rd Adam Morris 3rd Scott Ardren
4th Jordan Barrs 4th Will Payne
5th Ryan Harris 5th Anthony Milliar
6th Henry Griffin 6th Simon Hart


Next up in MOTO's Youth Club

Underdog Racing success at Pontrilas