Moto Magazine


A Suzuki motorbike first made headlines in the motocross world when Roger De Coster won the World Championship in the 500cc class riding a factory version of the TM400 in 1971. The RM125 debuted in 1975, and dominated its class, winning successive world title from 1975 to 1984, and the company also won the manufacturers’ title in the 250cc World Championship in 1980 and 1981.

The current Suzuki MX range features eight models, including the DR-Z70 for beginners learning to ride or more skilled riders dropping the gate at their local track, and the RM-Z250, with a revised fuel injection system for smoother fuelling and mapping honed to provide even better starts out the gate. At the top end of the range is the RMX450Z, designed for serious competition enduro racers.

New for 2015 is the latest version of its original four-stroke motocrosser the RM-Z450, with all-new launch control system and springless SFF Air Forks. Developed in conjunction with Suzuki’s official World Championship and AMA teams, the new RM-Z450 has technical updates to virtually every major component, utilising feedback gained from riders including James Stewart.

Suzuki’s MXGP factory team in the World Championship is made up of Clement Desalle and Kevin Strijbos, while its MX2 riders are Glenn Coldenhoff, Jeremy Seewer, Brian Hsu and Marcus Schiffer. Other leading MX riders using Suzuki include Graeme Irwin and Luke Burton of the Heads & All Threads Suzuki UK team, who compete in the Maxxis British Championship and the Red Bull Pro Nationals.


Year founded
Founder Name
Michio Suzuki
Based in


Now Reading: